Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

TCM HD update?

Reply
film11
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎08-06-2009

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 11 of 47
(5,271 Views)

@alski wrote:

Hi All,

 

Ok so reading the last update here, TCM is broadcasting HD??.


 

Despite what that post stated, there is NO HD on TCM-HD.  Nothing is being seen in HD on Cablevision, Comcast, DISH, Time Warner, or Direct TV.   Nor have they ever.  Yes, having their HD channel will improve the PQ...but "better than SD" is still not HD.  What people are seeing are simple upconverts...not 1080 HD.   That's been confirmed by a  TCM rep.  And, when asked why eveb bother having an HD channel if there is no HD, the response was that it's a "keeping up with the Jones" thing.  However, classic films CAN be seen in true HD via HDNet Movies, MGM-HD, and the premium channels. (Cinemax, EPIX, The Movie Channel)...all carried by FIOS.

Bobbo527
Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎10-18-2010

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 12 of 47
(5,243 Views)

@nycrobbie wrote:

Time Warner offers TCM HD.. Why not Verizon FIOS?  I am upset about that and considering switch back to TWC. 


Adding new English language HD is NOT a priority at Verizon and I would be extremely shocked if you see TCM-HD added anytime in the next few YEARS.   Smiley Mad

film11
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎08-06-2009

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 13 of 47
(5,229 Views)

@bobbo527 wrote:

Adding new English language HD is NOT a priority at Verizon and I would be extremely shocked if you see TCM-HD added anytime in the next few YEARS.   Smiley Mad



Sadly, this is very true.  While there will be no new HD additions in the forseeable future, Verizon WILL be adding more Spanish channels.

FeeFiFoe
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2011

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 14 of 47
(5,189 Views)

TCM is one of the main divisions of Time Warner. Verizon is in no hurry to promote the competition.

PKee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 15 of 47
(5,104 Views)

I'm a new customer to Fios TV switching from Optimum Online.  I'm very disappointed to see the HD line up, espcially no TCM HD.  TCM HD is essential to many household. 

JerryCic
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 16 of 47
(4,974 Views)

To the point of there being no HD content  on TCMHD.

The one thing i can say is that when TCM plays a movie as letterboxed on the non HD channel, the same movie is widescreen on the HD version.

 

That may not count for much according to some in this post but it IS a much better experience and better quality as well.

 

JerryCic
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 17 of 47
(4,974 Views)

To the point of there being no HD content  on TCMHD.

The one thing i can say is that when TCM plays a movie as letterboxed on the non HD channel, the same movie is widescreen on the HD version.

 

That may not count for much according to some in this post but it IS a much better experience and better quality as well.

 

film11
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎08-06-2009

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 18 of 47
(4,951 Views)

Yes, it is better quality than the SD channel, but it is still not HD.   They are simply upconverts, similar to what many DVD players do when playing a standard DVD to your HD television.   But it's still not HD.  HD has resolutions of 720p to 1080i on broadcast, while DVD is only 480p.  .So yes, the digital channel will look better than the SD channel, it's still not near HD quality. 

 

 Actually, considering how long  TCM has had an HD channel, it's shameful of them to still not be showing anything in HD.  But fortunately, as stated before, other channels are showing classic films in true HD. (recently saw HIGH NOON on HDNet Movies and it looked absolutely stunning!) 

ScottM
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎07-06-2009

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 19 of 47
(4,908 Views)

Where are the Dev Team notices found?

garysb
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-18-2011

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 20 of 47
(4,804 Views)

TCM would have to do HD masters of all the films they own for it to make any sense to start broadcasting in HD. The majority of the films are on 480i SD video so even if broadcast in HD the majority of the films would still be upconverted from 480i. Still I would love to see wide screen films use the full width of the screen and wish Fios would add the service.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title