Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

TCM HD update?

Reply
steven1
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎04-13-2011

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 31 of 47
(3,076 Views)

http://www.ipetitions.com/

 

 

petition fios for TCM HD programming i will sign it!!!

film11
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎08-06-2009

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 32 of 47
(2,976 Views)

@steven1 wrote:

http://www.ipetitions.com/

 

 

petition fios for TCM HD programming i will sign it!!!


Wouldn't it make more sense to pertition TCM to actually start showing their programming in HD first?

rpresser
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-24-2013

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 33 of 47
(2,941 Views)

@film11 wrote:

@steven1 wrote:

http://www.ipetitions.com/

 

 

petition fios for TCM HD programming i will sign it!!!


Wouldn't it make more sense to pertition TCM to actually start showing their programming in HD first?


No, it would not. It would make sense for Verizon to match what all its competitors are doing, which is broadcasting an HD signal of the content TCM provides.

rpresser
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-24-2013

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 34 of 47
(2,940 Views)

@rpresser wrote:

@film11 wrote:

@steven1 wrote:

http://www.ipetitions.com/

 

 

petition fios for TCM HD programming i will sign it!!!


Wouldn't it make more sense to pertition TCM to actually start showing their programming in HD first?


"Turner Classic Movies operates a high definition simulcast feed with programs broadcast in HD upconverted to the 1080i resolution format; the HD feed of the channel launched in June 2009. Initial programming was not available in native high definition and was instead upconverted from standard definition, but benefited from the greater bandwidth allocated to the channel."

 

 

film11
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎08-06-2009

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 35 of 47
(2,860 Views)

@rpresser wrote:



@film11 wrote:

@steven1 wrote:

http://www.ipetitions.com/

 

 

petition fios for TCM HD programming i will sign it!!!


Wouldn't it make more sense to pertition TCM to actually start showing their programming in HD first?


"Turner Classic Movies operates a high definition simulcast feed with programs broadcast in HD upconverted to the 1080i resolution format; the HD feed of the channel launched in June 2009. Initial programming was not available in native high definition and was instead upconverted from standard definition, but benefited from the greater bandwidth allocated to the channel."

 

 


Upconverting is NOT HD...and they are not broadcasting in HD.  If they were, they would not need to upconvert!  Yes, there is a greater bandwidth which is much better than seeing it in SD.  But that is not HD.  For example, if you play a standard DVD on an upconerting player, it will look a bit better than standard DVD...but it's not even close to being HD.

 

Other channels, of couyrse, DO broadcast classic films in HD. But TCM does not.  That's a shame because, if they did, it would be a much more highly trquested channel.

Bobbo527
Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎10-18-2010

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 36 of 47
(2,831 Views)

@steven1 wrote:

http://www.ipetitions.com/

 

 

petition fios for TCM HD programming i will sign it!!!


While I 100% agree with you about adding TCM-HD online petitions are the biggest wastes of time on the internet.

garysb
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-18-2011

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 37 of 47
(2,328 Views)

Its been almost 3 years since this topic was posted and still no TCM-HD on FIOS. I think it has been on Verizon Fios program queue even longer. They sure don't seem to want to give their customers what they want.

JohnF1379
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-19-2014

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 38 of 47
(2,062 Views)
Any update on this?
thetick1234
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎06-13-2010

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 39 of 47
(2,047 Views)

Yep TCM is still being upconverted so TCM real HD does not even exist.  Please complain to TCM about not having an real HD feed and only offering an upconverted signal to cable and telos.

Sammy14221
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-19-2014

Re: TCM HD update?

Message 40 of 47
(2,034 Views)

I still miss TCM HD that I had with my former provider. The SD version doesn't cut it.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.