TCM HD

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-19-2015

TCM HD

Message 1 of 29
(20,876 Views)

Why can't films add tom hd? Comcast has it and it looks great.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-19-2015

Re: TCM HD

Message 11 of 29
(9,604 Views)

Obviously you're more knowledgeable about this than I am. However having seen TCM HD on Comcast the quality of the HD feed is definitely better. Surely FIOS can afford to add TCM HD. and drop one of the numerous crap channels.

View solution in original post

28 REPLIES 28
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014

Re: TCM HD

Message 2 of 29
(20,868 Views)

Did you mean to ask  "Why can't FIOS add TCM HD?" ?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎10-18-2010

Re: TCM HD

Message 3 of 29
(20,799 Views)

Because apparently Verizon feels we want more religious and Infomercial channels in HD rather than ones we actually watch. Cannot believe they've added WOW, Daystair and Uplifting all in HD among others. Talk about pure garbage channels.

 

Can't wait until they add the rest of Byron Allens crap .tv Infomercial channels in HD.  Smiley Mad  Verizon is starting to loose me.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: TCM HD

Message 4 of 29
(20,697 Views)

Many such channels PAY Verizon part or all the costs of carrying them.  So of Course Verizon is willing to carry them.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

TCM HD -- Why is it not carried on FiOS?

Message 5 of 29
(20,631 Views)

I love FiOS and am glad that I switched to it from Comcast about 3 years ago. But one thing I don't like is that FiOS doesn't carry TCM HD -- only the SD version of the Turner Classic Movies channel. I use a TiVo Bolt with a cablecard to get FiOS channels, and I like to transfer recordings of movies to my computer. Using Plex, I can stream them back to the TiVo when I want to watch them. I have several TCM HD recordings I made when I was on Comcast, and they look better than the SD recordings I'm now making from TCM on FiOS.

 

So I'd like to make a formal request for Verizon to pick up the TCM HD channel.

 

Anyone else feel the same way?

 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎08-06-2009

Re: TCM HD -- Why is it not carried on FiOS?

Message 6 of 29
(20,487 Views)

I think a large majority of viewers would like that now.  In previous years, TCM-HD was not showing ANY movies in HD.  But I've heard that they have just started to do so this past year...finally!  Don't know how many titles are in HD but it's a step-forward. So maybe now FIOS will consider carrying it.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-19-2015

Re: TCM HD

Message 7 of 29
(19,931 Views)

Why can't Verizon give us TCM HD? I am sick of watching great films in letterbox. Every other major provider has TCM HD. Verizon seems oblivious to our wishes. I've tried calling, chatting (people in India don't know that TCM is a channel) and writing with no good explanation.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-20-2016

Re: TCM HD

Message 8 of 29
(19,660 Views)

I am also very disappointed that Verizon FIOS does not have TCM HD.  There is a difference between the SD and the HD.  I was formerly a Comcast customer had access to TCM HD.  It's one of my favorite channels.  I'm always exposed to new classic movies.

 

I just recently signed up with Verizon, and out of the few channels I watch, this is one of them.

 

When my contract expires, I'll probably leave Verizon and go back to Comcast for this reason alone.  I hope in the not too distant future this changes.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2016

Re: TCM HD

Message 9 of 29
(19,295 Views)

I would like to add my voice. I'm a new Fios customer and I'm very disappointed about this - TCM is my most watched channel by far. I wish I had checked more closely before signing up - I looked for TCM and just assumed it would be in HD like every other provider!

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎08-02-2009

Re: TCM HD

Message 10 of 29
(19,002 Views)

ek222   Do you think HD will eliminate letterboxing? If anything, a film worthy of a studio HD transfer should remain in its original aspect ratio (OAR). Which is usually 2.40:1 for modern films, a lot of comedies are shot in 1.85:1 OAR, which is almost the exact dimensions of your HD flat panel TV. The overwhelming majority of B&W films on TCM are old enough that they were shot in 1.33:1 OAR. The new BluRay version of 1946's "The Big Sleep" retains the original aspect ratio.  (If you don't like the black bars, then use the zoom function on your TV to eliminate them.)    RJM

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.