×

Switch Account

TCM HD

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor js99
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2011
Message 21 of 29
(3,061 Views)

I too would like TCM HD. The low quality of the current video does not nearly match the quality of TCM's programming!

Contributor Burningfool
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2017
Message 22 of 29
(2,913 Views)

And still no HD channel for TCM.

 

Please, Verizon - make this happen.  I will go back to Comcast just for TCM.  

 

Highlighted
Contributor Pie-Eyed
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-11-2014
Message 23 of 29
(2,178 Views)

Me, too!  I'm outta here when my contract is up.  We got a superduper 4K smart TV earlier this year that makes TCM look downright dumb.  Its fantastic resolution makes SD look all the worse.  We specifically asked the Fios agent banging on doors on our block when it became available here if Fios carried TCM.  We were too stupid to add HD to the question.  We miss Comcast.  Never had a problem.  TCM HD is essential for any serious movie fan.  Fios is way behind the curve.  Comcast also had some movies the same day they appeared in theaters.  Fios seems not to have that at all.

Copper Contributor Bishrone
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
Message 24 of 29
(1,842 Views)

6 months later...still no TCM HD.

 

I asked their twitter account, and they were stupid enough to tell me:

 

"Unfortunately we don't know when that may happen as most of the classic movies being broadcast were not filmed in HD"

 

 How stupid is that? 

Contributor WilliamV3
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-06-2017
Message 25 of 29
(1,760 Views)

It's not an solution to this issue but it might be an option for some folks. I just recently noticed that the Watch TCM app is now available for the Amazon Fire (and soon for Roku) so I just got a Fire Stick and now I can watch any of the monthly shows on demand in HD on my TV. Works good for me so far.

Contributor markthedoctor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2017
Message 26 of 29
(1,690 Views)

Does the Amazon Fire app stream TCM live?

Copper Contributor garysb
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 27 of 29
(1,599 Views)

No it does not stream TCM live but it does stream most of the movies begining shortly after the west coast feed of the channal on demand for a few weeks.  Probably the closest I will get see TCM HD as long as I keep Fios

Contributor tankhimo
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-23-2018
Message 28 of 29
(1,259 Views)

I switched to Verizon from tiny RCN that had had TCM in HD for years. I watch TCM a lot, SD looks terrible on flat screen TV, and unless Verizon steps up its game to match a mom-and-pop RCN shop, I will be back there the first time Verizon raises my subscription price. 

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,046
Registered: ‎03-18-2013
Message 29 of 29
(1,257 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.