×

Switch Account

TCM (Turner Class Movies) in HD (High Definition)

TCM (Turner Class Movies) in HD (High Definition)

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-19-2014
Message 1 of 36
(16,109 Views)

It's been over two years since I signed up for FIOS's Ultimate package. I have noticed new channels since as Aspire, Revolt, Logo UP, Pivot (soon to be deleted) etc have received both the SD & HD feeds. TCM is still not broadcast in High Definition whereas similar channels such as AMC are! When will Verizon add TCM to the HD lineup? There are more 16:9 movies shown on TCM and I as well as other movie buff subcribers  have to settle for the small screen. In addition, why are the majority of the shopping channels broadcast in HD? (Talk about a waste of bandwidth). Why  wasn't the HD feed added to El Rey Network where the majority of the shows are broadcast in 16:9? Just wondering what is the hold up?

35 REPLIES 35
Copper Contributor garysb
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 2 of 36
(16,018 Views)

TCM in HD has been asked for for many years on several threads. We are just ignored. Fios's standard answer is that there are many requests for many channels in HD and the TCM is in the que to be added in the future . That must be some ques because the channel never is. For the last several years Fios just seems to remove channels not add them. 

Contributor markthedoctor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2017
Message 3 of 36
(15,638 Views)

I am a  new customer... not by choice.  Our apartment building only offers FIOS.

 

How do they NOT have TCM in HD like every other provider??  It's ridiculous... and even more aggravating that so many random D-list channels are in HD, like all the ones that have televangelists asking for money.

 

It's unacceptable to me.  Does any one know what Verizon's problem is???

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,581
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 4 of 36
(15,611 Views)

This is a user to user support forum.

Verizon doesnt comment on channel choices.

I have read others state that most TCM content is not original in HD anyway.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor ek222
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-19-2015
Message 5 of 36
(14,805 Views)

The idea that TCM HD is not on FIOS because the movies are not HD is ridiculous. TCM HD is on just about all providers including Comcast. There are many movies from the 70's and 80's and all decades for that matter that look much sharper and brighter in HD. If you look at many of the channels added to the FIOS  HD lineup in recent years they include many shows from the 50's and 60's such as Gunsmoke and The Rifleman. Compare the SD and HD feeds and you will see the difference. I have requested that FIOS add TCM HD for 5 years and have never received a reply. These forums are a joke. We are just preaching to the choir. Comcast is looking better everyday.

Contributor ellenjp
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2017
Message 6 of 36
(15,525 Views)

In loving memory of Robert Osbourne, can we finally have TCM in HD? Will someone from Verizon please explain the delay in adding channel 730?

Contributor Tubabob
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2017
Message 7 of 36
(15,479 Views)

Why doesn't Verizon FIOS provide a high def channel for TCM? I'm sure a lot of viewers would like to see their offerings in HD. Do we really need 24 hours of cricket on Willow in HD? I'm sure there are more TCM fans than cricket fans.

Contributor RiveGauche2006
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-11-2011
Message 8 of 36
(15,329 Views)

agreed; they are really dragging their feet in getting this channel into the line up, it's now Mach 2017 and still no TCM HD, i was over a friend's house who has Comcast and not SUPRISINGLY they have it in their HD Lineup!!  Comcast seems to be far better than Verizon Cable, in terms of user interface and their talk activated remote and features/functions. 

Contributor Moeberg
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-02-2017
Message 9 of 36
(14,810 Views)
Just picked up Fios TV acter bei g a ceryong time Comcast subscriber. IT Is disappointing that Turner Classic Movies is not in HD. TCM is a major network. There are a lot of minor networks in my opinion that are in HD. Why not TCM?
Contributor brooklynnyc
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-24-2017
Message 10 of 36
(14,810 Views)

Can you offer TCM in HD? If not, why? 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.