×

Switch Account

Weather Channel - Local Weather on the 8's

Weather Channel - Local Weather on the 8's

Reply
Contributor Risdalt
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2009
Message 1 of 24
(37,074 Views)

I live in Burke, VA and recently moved form Cox to Verizon.  The BIG thing we miss is the Weather Channel Local Weather on the 8's for our local location.  With COX we received Local Weather on the 8's from Fairfax, VA.  Now, with Verizon our Local Weather on the 8's is from Washington, DC.  Not what we want.  the Washington local weather in not what we experience even in Western Fairfax County VA.  I want/need at a minimum, what I received from COX  i.e. Fairfax, VA  Local Weather on the 8's, or if possible Burke, VA Local Weather on the 8's.   This is so big to our household, we wish we wouldn't have switched from COX...

 

Can anyone tell us how to make the change from TWC Washingotn to TWC Fairfax, VA or Burke, VA?  This is a big problem with many of Verizon customers apparently...

23 REPLIES 23
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 2 of 24
(37,014 Views)
Hi - are you referring to the actual Weather Channel, the national feed, or are you referring to Channel 49 in the Verizon lineup? Ch 49 in Verizon's lineup is more localized, provided by the Weather Channel folks, and might be more suitable to your needs.
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 3 of 24
(36,948 Views)
Yea I get the same thing in Staten Island NY. We had Local Staten Island Forecast Local on the 8's with Time Warner Cable. Even with Weatherscan Local , its more Metro than Local, its like a second Weather channel .
Copper Contributor MikeT
Copper Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 4 of 24
(36,938 Views)

I assume that you are looking at channel 119 for your local weather?  Also, there is a setting on the remote to provide you with your local weather.  You have to enter your zip code.  Since I am at work, I do not remember what button you press to pull this up.

Mike T

Alexandria, VA

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009
Message 5 of 24
(36,917 Views)
Yes, they are widgets.  Should have a button on your remote or you can access it from the menu.  Pop in your zipcode and you can always know what your local weather is like.
.,.
Highlighted
Contributor OBXParrothead24
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Message 6 of 24
(36,131 Views)

I believe what this man is asking is what I want to know. With the cable company (Comcast in my case), when the Local on the 8's came on, I got radar localized on Fredericksburg not Washington, DC. (Weather Channel has local codes to make this happen). So when there is a storm, I can see how close it is to me. On the DC feed, Fredericksburg is usually at the bottom of the screen when it goes to the Regional radar. Many times there are local alerts that affect other parts of the area that do not apply to everyone. I have waited for almost 2 years with Verizon FiOS to allow them to catch up and fine tune the system. If the cable provider can do it, why can't Verizon? I get local government from Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania.

 

The other issue is local television. Being equally as close to Richmond, VA as Washington, DC, Comcast provided us with local stations from BOTH markets. Sometimes one market decides to show Billy Graham or a local show instead of the network show, or Oprah and other talk shows come on at different times. Sometimes the Richmond stations would show the weather that was moving our way BEFORE the DC stations. Again, if the cable guys could do it, why hasn't Verizon? I now see NBC Hagerstown is one of my channels. That's way further away from me. Come on Verizon, start offering us the same services.

Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 7 of 24
(36,126 Views)

@OBXParrothead24 wrote:

I believe what this man is asking is what I want to know. With the cable company (Comcast in my case), when the Local on the 8's came on, I got radar localized on Fredericksburg not Washington, DC. (Weather Channel has local codes to make this happen). So when there is a storm, I can see how close it is to me. On the DC feed, Fredericksburg is usually at the bottom of the screen when it goes to the Regional radar. Many times there are local alerts that affect other parts of the area that do not apply to everyone. I have waited for almost 2 years with Verizon FiOS to allow them to catch up and fine tune the system. If the cable provider can do it, why can't Verizon? I get local government from Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania.

 


The problem is the basic architecture of  FiOS vs. cable.  Cable has many local head ends that all have Intellistars (the device responsible for the insertion of Local on the 8's).  Fios has a regional hub archiotecture with a single "regionally set" Intellistar which would require multiple Intellistars and multiple channels to distribute.

 

Think hub and spoke as opposed to daisy chain.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor mabuka
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-05-2009
Message 8 of 24
(35,673 Views)
All I know is when I had Brighthouse, they had Baynews 9 with local weather every 10 minutes (on the 9's). Showed radar, everything...nothing like that on Verizon FIOS...you basically have to go the web...which is ok, but it would be nice to just flip a channel for updated weather....
Copper Contributor Barking_Pumpkin
Copper Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Message 9 of 24
(35,658 Views)
I live in Virginia Beach, VA and am a FiOS subscriber.  I've found that we don't get "Weather on the 8's" on TWC-HD (The Weather Channel HD 619).  We do get "Weather on the 8's" on the non-HD The Weather Channel 119.
Copper Contributor robertf390
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-02-2009
Message 10 of 24
(35,631 Views)

Hi:

 

I am a former Cablevision subscriber and can state clearly that a better option is available for the Weather Channel local on the 8's on the HD Channel 619.  Cablevision provided a NY Metro forecast for LI, CT, NJ and NYC to include substantially more info than the national feed on the local 8's now provides with FIOS. I do not know if this option is available for other communities but since the format exists (I've seen and have come to miss it), cannot understand why FIOS does not make use of it for us here in NY - it fits the FIOS operational architecture mentioned.

 

It seems to me that given the potential for dangerous weather conditions, and given that most of us generally watch the HD service more than SD, FIOS needs to explain why they are not pursuing this option. Since the program exists, it should be an easy transition to implement system wide and provide the state of the art service Verizon advertises continually.

 

I would appreciate someone from Verizon responding as to why we don't have this - thank you.

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.