Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

1.6.1 FIX

Reply
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 61 of 110
(6,324 Views)

@Joe01880 wrote:

 

It has already been said by Verizon employee's that 40 people tested 1.6.1. Do you really think that out of a million customers that is adaquate to realese a finale product? Its still being tested...thus the staggard roll out!


That is just from 1 VHO and does not include the internal testing done before doing any field testing.  Not defending the testing process and the apparent lack of regression testing, just pointing out that more than 1 group of 40 testers were involved with pre-release testing.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎08-08-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 62 of 110
(6,291 Views)

@Keyboards wrote:

@Joe01880 wrote:

 

It has already been said by Verizon employee's that 40 people tested 1.6.1. Do you really think that out of a million customers that is adaquate to realese a finale product? Its still being tested...thus the staggard roll out!


That is just from 1 VHO and does not include the internal testing done before doing any field testing.  Not defending the testing process and the apparent lack of regression testing, just pointing out that more than 1 group of 40 testers were involved with pre-release testing.


I realize that but how many tens of thousands of customers are in OR and WA and they decided to ask only 40? Im sure their testing is at least as thurough as with 1.6

Joe was here
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 63 of 110
(6,288 Views)
I believe it's a quality check. The last update created a lot of problems which this one is aimming to correct.  They are trying to make sure its not another "1.6 update" and create even MORE problems. That's my personal opinion...
Message Edited by CharlesH on 01-16-2009 06:26 PM
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-04-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 64 of 110
(6,286 Views)

OK, let me get this straight from what i gather  in this forumn the 1.6.1 fix has been released with mostly positive results relating to standard def. pq.  that i read about in the  various  VHO area,s. my question is how do i get to know when release will be in my VHO area VHO6a  in  Rhode Island .     thanks   

Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 65 of 110
(6,275 Views)

Well, the release schedule was posted earlier in this thread.  With the onset of this new bug the dates may have to be changed but it is unknown at this time.  Other than that we haven't recieved any other updates on the schedule or the content. 

 

TS

TheSanchez
Verizon Telecom
Verizon Content Management Center




Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-16-2009

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 66 of 110
(6,248 Views)

Hi. New here. I only came to these forums tonight because I just noticed that my audio is cutting out for very brief periods...like less than a second. Sometimes there will be a "pop" or quick, short static sound that accompanies the break in the audio. This just starting happening a day or two ago. So I found this thread, looked at my FiOS HD DVR System Info and see that I have the 1.6.1 release.

 

So I'm assuming my sound problems are due to this update. I have a Samsung 1080p TV and it's hooked up via HDMI.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Compression is on Heavy if that helps...I've never messed with any of those settings.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎11-10-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 67 of 110
(6,203 Views)

After I adjust the HDMI variables in part 2 of the hidden menu that were screwed up by 1.6.1 (audio), how do I save the changes?  I read what Techman was asking for on one of the forum questions and went in and made the changes he may have been suggesting.  However, I do not know how to save the changes and exit the menu.  Anyone know how to save the changes in the hidden menu?

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎12-05-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 68 of 110
(6,183 Views)
just exit...if for example you change audio settings from lpcm to auto which I did, I then just exit and it remains on auto...Settings on pass through shut down my tv not sure why and Lpcm also did after several days, so i went to auto and no problems since...,
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎11-10-2008

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 69 of 110
(6,063 Views)
Thanks.  When I clicked on exit, nothing happened.   I just turned the power off and the changes seem to have occurred.   It is working perfectly.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-16-2009

Re: 1.6.1 FIX

Message 70 of 110
(5,887 Views)

Hi I have few quick questions.

 

1. I am having problems with HD channels where they breakup, sound drops, and eventually says "Channel Unavaiable." I have read that this problem is caused by any of a host of things including HDMI cables, loose connections, and firmware. Are we saying that the 1.6.1 fix is expected to fix my issue. Also, does it address a problem with HDMI connections or is the Channel Unavaiable problem come from something else.

 

2. I live in Long Beach Caifornia, which about 35 miles from Pomona. I am serviced by VHO3 Pomona, CA?

 

3. Right now I have pretty much lost Sci-fi HD, USA HD, and a few other channels. Is there any point in calling customer service? Can they do anything for the 6 weeks I have to wait for the update?

 

Thanks in advance.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.