×

Switch Account

1.6.2

Reply
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 11 of 55
(4,753 Views)
The update fixes the SD of the 6xxx series boxes, it worked for me.
Copper Contributor J-Scott
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 12 of 55
(4,728 Views)

I am still at 1.6.0 in VHO4.  This post is VERY disappointing.  I was looking forward to the 1.6.2 update just to get a decent PQ on the SD channels.  Based on the razor sharp ads from a year ago, I thought Verizon would be capable of providing decent video on an SD channel with the HD STB they gave me.  Comcast could.  Verizon seems to be incapable of doing so.  About a year ago I got FIOS.   I had several service calls.  One was on 4/21/2008, ticket number MDDQ020BB8.   The tech acknowledged there was an issue and there would “probably” be a firmware update “sometime soon” to improve the SD PQ.  I even brought the SD 2500 STB up from the clubroom and showed him how much better the PQ was on SD channels.  He said it was obvious.   I showed him the difference on both live SD channels and SD VOD.  For almost a year I’ve put up with this.

 

I am so angry.  I pay over $200 monthly.  I would think FIOS was the greatest if I could enjoy BBCA, Comedy Central, Weather Scan, and other SD channels as I did with Comcast on my Panasonic Plasma.   I especially miss good quality SD VOD (e.g. HBO VOD is not available in HD).   FIOS, you do a great job with HD.  If you watch any SD content however, forget about it.    

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-23-2009
Message 13 of 55
(4,686 Views)

I feel your pain J-Scott

 

FiOS's HD can't be beat, but as much as I hate Cablevision, they at least supplied a half decent SD picture.

 

matcart, it DIDN'T work for me.

Copper Contributor fiosles
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Message 14 of 55
(4,670 Views)
I THINK WE ALL SHOULD DEMAND THAT FIOS PROVIDE THE BEST SERVICE AS PER THEIR COMMERCIAL. I SWITCH BECAUSE OF THE PROMISE THEY MADE TO THE CONSUMERS WHO SWITCH FROM CABLE/DISH. AS STATED IN MY PREVIOUS POSTING, THEIR FIOS SOLUTION CENTER ARE NOT COURTEOUS TO PAYING CUSTOMERS, WHY TAKE THIS ABUSE. I AM, AND I PRESUME OTHERS ARE, WILLING TO PAY THE $$ TO BREAK AWAY FROM THIS CONTRACT AND BACK TO CABLE. MUTINY, MUTINY, WILLING TO JUMP SHIP, CANT SWIM BUT WILLING.Robot Sad
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 15 of 55
(4,649 Views)

prisaz wrote:

Techman28

What stinks is if the 7000 series box gives a good SD picture and the 6416 like I have now does not. It will not be fixed with 1.6.2, why should I not be entitled to the box that fixes what the software doesn't?

 

I am sure that is the whole question. I want the newer box if mine will not give me the best posible picture that I am paying for. Not to be negative but asking what everyone will want to know.

 

If a person is lucky enough to walk into a Verizon FIOS store, will they not be able to get the newer box?

 

1.6.0 has been working great for me. If 1.6.2 is not going to do anything for the 6416 then don't screw with something that works for me. I wonder what is going to break on the 31st.

Message Edited by prisaz on 03-25-2009 08:38 PM

 

Prisaz,

 

I did just that, I went to a Verizon store and got a new box however I was adding to my collection I have already and was informed at my location in TX that they no longer Carry the 6416 or 6200 for HD only the 7000 series.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 16 of 55
(4,613 Views)

IS there a policy for unhappy 6416 customers to swap them for 7000 series boxes at no charge?

I cannot see paying the same price as the 7000 series customers, for what in my application is clearly an inferior product.

 

 

I did ask at the time of install about a 7000 series box, and was told they weren't available.

 

Is there an official policy? If not, who do we complain too...

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 17 of 55
(4,602 Views)

@matcarl wrote:
The update fixes the SD of the 6xxx series boxes, it worked for me.

 

 

I guess I will need to wait and see if anything breaks. I have used HDMI with my 46" Samsung 1080p LCD since day 1 and no issues. I hope it stays that way and gets better on the SD. What works or doesn't work is not the same for everyone. I guess I was in a bad mood when I posted last.

Thanks matcarl

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 18 of 55
(4,597 Views)
Thanks Techman28 for the response. I guess I was in a bad mood when I posted that last. Just cut my movie channels to try and save some $$. It would be nice to see a better picture on SD. Even better if all were HD but that isn't gonna happen soon. I do have a store near by. I wonder if it would increase my price for the box. I am still at $12.99 since I activated as soon as TV became available. If it is going to increase the cost, I may just wait and hope something bigger and bader comes out. 
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009
Message 19 of 55
(4,590 Views)
For the people who are on 1.6.2 and still say SD looks bad...you aren't stretching the picture are you?  My wife hates watching SD tv with the picture stretched because of the quality.
.,.
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 20 of 55
(4,589 Views)

DzWR wrote:
For the people who are on 1.6.2 and still say SD looks bad...you aren't stretching the picture are you?  My wife hates watching SD tv with the picture stretched because of the quality.

 

You bring up a very good point. If you are using the option to stretch the picture or your TV has the ability to stretch it...it's still going to not look all that good...It wil look fine at original 4:3 but you will get the black bars on the left and right side of the screen.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.