Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

1.6.2

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-04-2008

Re: 1.6.2

Message 31 of 55
(6,177 Views)

Hi ,

    I received the so called 1.6.2 fix on 3/24/09 .im located in VHO6A.  the issue with bad pq  on standard channels is still  the same  fuzzy ghosting and dull. i had been waiting for this update since last october. what gives? i have the 6416 -p2 stb i  am totally disappointed with verizon. are there any settings i should use with the sd override . presently i have the video set to 1080i with the over ride set to off. i have tried all settings  off , 480i  480p  and stretch all of which do nothing TECHMAN if you read this please help  thanks                                                                                                                                 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-30-2009

Re: 1.6.2

Message 32 of 55
(6,170 Views)

Wow, ok, how long have these forums been around?  I used to be a huge contributor on the Comcast forums before I switched to FiOS.  Great to see these active!

 

My question is this: Does anyone know when Pittsburgh will be getting 1.6.2?  Also, is there an easy way to tell what CO I'm out of?

 

Thanks guys!  I look forward to becoming a very active contributor around here! 🙂 

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009

Re: 1.6.2

Message 33 of 55
(6,147 Views)

@majicman10211 wrote:

Wow, ok, how long have these forums been around?  I used to be a huge contributor on the Comcast forums before I switched to FiOS.  Great to see these active!

 

My question is this: Does anyone know when Pittsburgh will be getting 1.6.2?  Also, is there an easy way to tell what CO I'm out of?

 

Thanks guys!  I look forward to becoming a very active contributor around here! 🙂 


 

Welcome to the forums 🙂

 

The latest release schedule was posted here:  http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=FiOS_TV&thread.id=8917

.,.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: 1.6.2

Message 34 of 55
(6,083 Views)
Techman, What happened to today's rollout? Was the date changed? Thanks.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-04-2008

Re: 1.6.2

Message 35 of 55
(5,916 Views)

HI JUST TALKED TO TECH SUPPORT LAST NIGHT AFTER RECEIVING 1.6.2 UPDATEE WITH NO IMPROVEMENT ON STD CHANNELS . THEY HINTED IT COULD BE PROBLEM WITH MY SONY BRAVIA   NO WAY>I HAVE IT CONFIGURED TO SETTINGS RECOMENDED BY SONY SUPPORT   HD IS GREAT  SD  SUCKS  BOTTOM LINE IS VERIZON IS COMING THIS WEEKEND TO SWAP MY 6416 FOR 7216 ALSO THEY SAID SD COULD BE BETTER USING COMPOSITE WIRE INSTEAD OF HDMI   ANYBODY HAVE ANY THOUGHTS ON USING COMPOSITE WIRE INSTEAD OF HDMI ?

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-11-2009

Re: 1.6.2

Message 36 of 55
(5,875 Views)
I've got the 7216 and 7100 STBs. SD programming looks pretty good (still have the 1.6.0 firmware).  Of course, HD looks a lot better.  I use HDMI cables to a Sony and a Samsung.  Suggest you initially try the HDMI hook-up when they deliver the new STB and see how it looks.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-04-2008

Re: 1.6.2

Message 37 of 55
(5,847 Views)

Jetpeak,

   I just got my update also.  Pretty much no improvement in SD quality as you and many others have observed.  I am using an HDMI hookup, but I'd be surprised if using component helps.  The reason I say that is that when I had comcast, I used both HDMI and component and PQ was the same (excellent).  I may experiment, but bottom line is that I now don't have a spare component hookup on my TV and it shouldn't make a difference anyway.  I can't believe Verizon couldn't get this right.  My question to you: what did you say to Verizon that made them willing to come and switch boxes for you?  My impression from other comments in this forum was that unless your box was broken, they wouldn't replace it.  Maybe we can just define "broken" as lousy SD PQ.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-04-2008

Re: 1.6.2

Message 38 of 55
(5,766 Views)

 Hi Larry when i talked to tech support this week i told them i had this problem sinse last october after upgrade to hd 6416 stb

  i reported it then and it was suggested to wait for 1.6.1 fix which never happened as i said in last post i did receive 1.6.2  which has no fix  the tech had me changing wires to try different hookups  tried running coax directly from wall to tv   no go

 then he did a diagnostic through box he said  that box seemed ok .thats when i mentioned  fios forumns telling him that this issue is a nation wide problem and if it doesnt get resolved i will be switching back to cox cable he then said  well try a 7216 box  which im scheduled to get this saturday. he also said some tv,s have had issue with handshake protocol.  which i dont accept  at least not with my sony bravia  sony tech support reaffirmed that my tv was not the problem. it all comes down to how good a signal tv is receiving from verizon  so  thats where im at now  ill find out this sat. and will report to forumn how i make out   .

                                                                                                                                                                      thanks jetpeak

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: 1.6.2

Message 39 of 55
(5,755 Views)
I am not please with the 1.6.2. It did nothing for my SD and actully looks worse on my set. 1080 out with HDMI. Even when I do not stretch it and have SD overide off. Oh well. I guess the 6416 is junk, and the 7000 series is what is required to not see a fuzzy picture.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎11-02-2008

Re: 1.6.2

Message 40 of 55
(5,617 Views)

I live in Staten Island, NY and I just wanted to report that I am very happy with the 1.6.2 fix. I was concerned that the "HUB" error would never be resolved. After watching many shows in my bedroom I can say that the problem no longer exsists. Just resolving that problem is a huge upgrade in my eyes. Another thing I did notice on my HD set in my main room was that the SD ch's have improved a great deal. The SD ch's always were pretty good on my garbage sets, but on my HD tv they were very blurry. Now I noticed a sharper detail to all the Sd ch's. I still don't watch them....HD is all I am worried about. Thanks Verizon.

NOW PLEASE WORK ON THE GUIDE!!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.