×

Switch Account

4-Device Remote Control Replacement

4-Device Remote Control Replacement

Reply
Contributor Elmo123
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-11-2010
Message 1 of 8
(12,093 Views)
For customers seeking a replacement 4-device Fios remote control, I offer the following commentary in hopes of helping you and possibly Verizon's business management staff. I have been a Fios customer for several years and, I'm sure like many of you, have had my share of occasions to interact with customer relations regarding billing problems, rate negotiations, and equipment failures. While some of these interactions have tested my patience, this last endeavor to replace some original failing remote controls had me really frustrated and scratching my head regarding Verizon's business management intellect. Over the past several months, I've had four remote controls start having buttons sticking and working intermittently. My first call to technical support resulted in a pleasant initial response of sending out two replacements free of charge. Great! However, upon receipt of the replacements, I discovered that the replacements only operate 2 devices. In a follow-up call, I was informed that these were the new style and that the old 4-device remotes were no longer available. After a couple of months of tolerating sticking buttons, I again called technical support and explained my desire to obtain 4-device remote replacements as I really use the extra modes. The phone representative spent some time researching and said he was able to get a request in for the 4-device remotes. Great! However, (you know where this is going!), upon opening I found four 2-device remotes. Not quite ready to give up, I researched the internet for some information. Alas, I found a forum that had a link to the Verizon Equipment Shopping page that had 2 and 4 device remotes for sale. https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayProducts At this point I conceded and spent the $35 to get four new 4-device remotes. My point for Verizon ( I know, about time), is why in the world would a company put a customer through this? Remotes they sent for free were 6 x $5.50/ea. Smart business? The 4-device remotes were only $6.95/ea. I really need some help understanding this one!
7 REPLIES 7
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 2 of 8
(12,044 Views)

hi there,  this is a peer to peer forum, so you may or may not get any official verizon response.  If you want a direct response you should reach out to them via the contact us  section of the website. 

 

my best guess is that there is little rhyme or reason why that was so difficult.  Its basically that they stopped offering those remotes for free, the information hasn't trickled down appropriately to the tech support channels, and while the reps were acting in good faith and had the best intentions, they were all in vain because those remotes would never get shipped out no matter what they did.  they clearly didn't understand that, or were under the impression that they could trick the system.    

 

they should have just told you "those are available at the following website for 6.95,  if you would like the two button version - I can send that at no cost"

 

 

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 3 of 8
(12,018 Views)

I can't explain the cost difference but the likely reason verizon doesn't offer the 4 device remotes because hook-ups for dvd players, vcrs, etc are not supported when you call for support. So no point in providing those remotes if anything but pic from STB to TV is supported. I know it would be nice to have 4 device remotes...

 

support.verizon.com/boundary

Contributor goldjr1
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 4 of 8
(9,734 Views)

  I have experienced the same disappointment when having converted to all HD-STB's. My living room audio is controlled through a 5.1 stereo home entertainment system and other accessorial A/V equipment is also controlled remotely in this room. What could simply be done with one remote that had been supplied by Verizon must now be done utilizing three! When calling to complain about the remote downgrade I was basically told tough luck, if you want a 4-device remote you'll have to buy it. Now THAT steams me! Especially when I see promotions like a free DVR for life or a free flatscreen TV, months of free movies, etc. etc. being  given away yet they choose to screw their older clients over with a cheap remote. Come on Verizon, you gotta be kidding. That kind of treatment gives all of us a sour taste for FIOS service, making us think twice when the Optimum people come knocking at our door looking for us to return at a much cheaper rate.

Contributor MaryQ2
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-01-2013
Message 5 of 8
(7,634 Views)
I just got off the phone with someone at Verizon about the same issue. I pay about $180 a month for cable and cannot get a replacement remote without paying for it? It is not like they are built to last and they always stop working after a while. Unacceptable! I took the name and number of an executive in NYC and will be contacting him on Tuesday. If I do not get a satisfactory response, I will be calling Comcast and changing my service. This is beyond nickel and diming! I will be also considering changing my cell phone service and letting everyone I know via social media and word of mouth of my experience! Come on Verizon, where is your customer service and loyalty?
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 6 of 8
(7,605 Views)

@MaryQ2 wrote:
... I pay about $180 a month for cable and cannot get a replacement remote without paying for it? It is not like they are built to last and they always stop working after a while. Unacceptable! ...

A few weeks ago I replaced a FiOS remote at zero cost using the Customer Service menu on my DVR.

 

I have a QIP 7232 running IMG 1.9.4 (incidentally, it's helpful if you supply such information rather than forcing responders to speculate about the devices and software you're using).  Here's the menu sequence:

 

Menu -> Customer Support -> Replace/Program Remote -> Replace Remote -> OK

 

Then just answer a few simple questions and the remote will arrive at your registered FiOS address at absolutely no charge.  Try these suggestions and report back with the result.  If this doesn't work, we'll try something else until we remedy this "unacceptable" situation.

Contributor DaddyMac53
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2014
Message 7 of 8
(6,918 Views)

Hello, I agree with all this remote nonesense.  I have been a Verizon customer for years and my bill is roughly $230 per month with 5 DVRs, Interet, and phone.  I am very displeased with the new remote replacement polic.   I have remotes that are failing due to use and the policy has changed to charge the customer $14.95 per remote to replace them when they used to be replaced free of charge.  With all the $$


@armond_in_nj wrote:

@MaryQ2 wrote:
... I pay about $180 a month for cable and cannot get a replacement remote without paying for it? It is not like they are built to last and they always stop working after a while. Unacceptable! ...

A few weeks ago I replaced a FiOS remote at zero cost using the Customer Service menu on my DVR.

 

I have a QIP 7232 running IMG 1.9.4 (incidentally, it's helpful if you supply such information rather than forcing responders to speculate about the devices and software you're using).  Here's the menu sequence:

 

Menu -> Customer Support -> Replace/Program Remote -> Replace Remote -> OK

 

Then just answer a few simple questions and the remote will arrive at your registered FiOS address at absolutely no charge.  Try these suggestions and report back with the result.  If this doesn't work, we'll try something else until we remedy this "unacceptable" situation.



@armond_in_nj wrote:

@MaryQ2 wrote:
... I pay about $180 a month for cable and cannot get a replacement remote without paying for it? It is not like they are built to last and they always stop working after a while. Unacceptable! ...

A few weeks ago I replaced a FiOS remote at zero cost using the Customer Service menu on my DVR.

 

I have a QIP 7232 running IMG 1.9.4 (incidentally, it's helpful if you supply such information rather than forcing responders to speculate about the devices and software you're using).  Here's the menu sequence:

 

Menu -> Customer Support -> Replace/Program Remote -> Replace Remote -> OK

 

Then just answer a few simple questions and the remote will arrive at your registered FiOS address at absolutely no charge.  Try these suggestions and report back with the result.  If this doesn't work, we'll try something else until we remedy this "unacceptable" situation.




I spend annually with Verizon, they shoud support their customers by replacing faulty remotes.  Its policy changes like this that make me consider changing services.  Is anyone else LIVID about this????


Thank you,

DaddyMac53

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 8 of 8
(6,908 Views)

@DaddyMac53 wrote:

Hello, I agree with all this remote nonesense.  I have been a Verizon customer for years and my bill is roughly $230 per month with 5 DVRs, Interet, and phone.  I am very displeased with the new remote replacement polic.   I have remotes that are failing due to use and the policy has changed to charge the customer $14.95 per remote to replace them when they used to be replaced free of charge.  With all the $$


@armond_in_nj wrote:

@MaryQ2 wrote:
... I pay about $180 a month for cable and cannot get a replacement remote without paying for it? It is not like they are built to last and they always stop working after a while. Unacceptable! ...

A few weeks ago I replaced a FiOS remote at zero cost using the Customer Service menu on my DVR.

 

I have a QIP 7232 running IMG 1.9.4 (incidentally, it's helpful if you supply such information rather than forcing responders to speculate about the devices and software you're using).  Here's the menu sequence:

 

Menu -> Customer Support -> Replace/Program Remote -> Replace Remote -> OK

 

Then just answer a few simple questions and the remote will arrive at your registered FiOS address at absolutely no charge.  Try these suggestions and report back with the result.  If this doesn't work, we'll try something else until we remedy this "unacceptable" situation.



@armond_in_nj wrote:

@MaryQ2 wrote:
... I pay about $180 a month for cable and cannot get a replacement remote without paying for it? It is not like they are built to last and they always stop working after a while. Unacceptable! ...

A few weeks ago I replaced a FiOS remote at zero cost using the Customer Service menu on my DVR.

 

I have a QIP 7232 running IMG 1.9.4 (incidentally, it's helpful if you supply such information rather than forcing responders to speculate about the devices and software you're using).  Here's the menu sequence:

 

Menu -> Customer Support -> Replace/Program Remote -> Replace Remote -> OK

 

Then just answer a few simple questions and the remote will arrive at your registered FiOS address at absolutely no charge.  Try these suggestions and report back with the result.  If this doesn't work, we'll try something else until we remedy this "unacceptable" situation.




I spend annually with Verizon, they shoud support their customers by replacing faulty remotes.  Its policy changes like this that make me consider changing services.  Is anyone else LIVID about this????


Thank you,

DaddyMac53


The charging for remotes isnt all Verizon's fault. People abused the free remote policy. Why do you think there are so many listed in bulk on ebay? because people would keep getting free remotes then listing them for sale. That's not the only reason though. The remotes unlike other cable services where you rent them from and have to return them when you cancel service is given to by Verizon. When you get a remote with service from them it becomes your property and you own it. They will never want it back.

Some people can still get free remotes under the dvr/stb menu. If it doesnt work and ebay where a remote can cost as low as $2 is to much for someone then thank those who abused the free policy for ruining it for others. If someone doesn't like it no one is stopping anyone from going elsewhere. 



How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.