×

Switch Account

480i signal from QIP2500-3 stb is the best it can do?

480i signal from QIP2500-3 stb is the best it can do?

Reply
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 1 of 7
(10,475 Views)

I just connected a QIP2500-3 stb to my new 1080p HDTV. The signal the TV indicates it is getting is 480i, is that the best it can do? I know I need a new stb that is capable of 1080p but for now (for Thanksgiving football) is this the best I can get?

6 REPLIES 6
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 2 of 7
(10,472 Views)

That is the best it can do. That is why it is called an SD STB.

 

If you want HD you need an HD STB. Then you will get up to 1080i, not 1080p.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7C, Build 09.83
Keller, TX 76248

Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 3 of 7
(10,470 Views)

The QIP2500 is the Verizon STB meant for SD (non-HD) televisions.  It does not support HD channels and will not produce a good picture on your TV.

 

For a HD television, you'll want the QIP7100 HDTV STB or better yet, the QIP7216 HDTV DVR.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 4 of 7
(10,467 Views)

 The QIP-2500 is a standard definition STB, and you aren't even getting 480i out of it. The 480i is synthesized inside your TV.

The best you can do with S-Video output is about 400 line resolution, with composite video it somewhere between 260 and 330, depending upon how good the comb filter is.

 

As far as I know, there are NO STB's that are capable of 1080p. The best you are going to do is either 720p or 1080i, and you need a high definition STB to do that. Your QIP2500 has neither HDMI or Component video output, which you need for true 480i, 480p, 720p or 1080i output. If you want HD television, you need to replace your STB with a HD capable STB and use either component video cables, or HDMI cables.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Message 5 of 7
(10,447 Views)

Thanks all that replied for your time. Is there a Verizon "store" where I could swap this stb for a HD stb? I dont think I've ever seen one but thought I'd ask, it would be nice to have this thing set up properly for kickoff.

 

Again, thanks for the replies.

MVP CRobGauth MVP
MVP
Posts: 7,713
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 6 of 7
(10,348 Views)
Probably too late, but if you want to watch just the "broadcast" channels, you can hook the cable directly to the TV (assuming it has a QAM tuner and a coax input).

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-16-2009
Message 7 of 7
(10,298 Views)

By the way, here is a link to our storefront locations that you can use to upgrade services, etc. 

 

http://tinyurl.com/yl2n7as

 

 

 

Brian K
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solution Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.