Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

SOLVED
Reply
TigerRain
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-19-2009

5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 1 of 15
(10,112 Views)

I've had Verizon internet and phone for almost 4 years and never had any issues.  FiOS TV/DRV that is another story.

Since it was installed I don't think I've had more the 2 days in a row without issues.

 

I pay a lot of money for this and I'm wondering why.  I'm on my 4th DVR, 1st went bad and 2 replacement would not activate. and the one a tech installed now likes to hang all the time.  The box progression went like this 7216, 6416, 6416, 7216.

 

Does anyone else have these problems?

Watching a program. then switch to another station, new station will not pause or rewind.  I need to change the channel and loose all stored buffer.

 

 I'm realy starting to this VOD is not worth not swtiching to tivo.

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TigerRain
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-19-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 2 of 15
(10,092 Views)

Just solved my own problem with the FiOS DVR...  I've been with Tivo for 3 years and they sold me a NEW Tivo HD DVR for $99 with a 1 year contract.  Sure no more VOD but I'll have a DVR that actually works!

 

Plus VOD did not work for 2 of the months I've had it.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
TigerRain
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-19-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 2 of 15
(10,093 Views)

Just solved my own problem with the FiOS DVR...  I've been with Tivo for 3 years and they sold me a NEW Tivo HD DVR for $99 with a 1 year contract.  Sure no more VOD but I'll have a DVR that actually works!

 

Plus VOD did not work for 2 of the months I've had it.

View solution in original post

demery
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 3 of 15
(10,086 Views)
I'm two months into this and on my 3rd DVR. I commented on this before and was poo poo'd. I think the issue is the replacement equipment is not refurbished, it's just bench tested and sent back out. Quite often the equipment has to be in use for several hours / days in order for reported problems to reappear. So when you bench test it for 5 minutes and then send it back out the previous problem just reappears in another customers home. I was with Dish for 6 years are their replacement equipment always looked new even it it was refurbished. Verizon's shows up and looks used, no plastic wrapping, scratches, dents, anything goes as long as it passes the 5 minute bench test. I would agree the Phone and Internet Service is rock solid, but the TV leaves a lot to be desired
TigerRain
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-19-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 4 of 15
(10,069 Views)

It really is to bad.

 

I know for my memorial day BBQ people saw 2 bad DRV's and 1 that was only 1/2 working sitting on top of my entertainment center.  It turned out to be a nice commercial against friends signing upFiOS.  I took pictures of them all stacked up and not working.

 

I just told my wife we are going back to Tivo and I thought she was going to cry tears of joy.  I don't think I'll miss her calling me at work to say the TV isn't working again.  I'm also sure the install manager that gave her his card will not miss the calls from her either.

 

Funny thing is Tivo could not wait to get me back and even give me $200 off the tivo. FiOS? not even a credit for all the down time I had.

 

 Oh, and I think the thing that made me so mad FiOS FiOS service was the "24x7" support.  Just as long as you don't call on a Friday or Saturday morning between 5-8AM.

garyandsue
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 5 of 15
(9,908 Views)

I just ordered a TiVo too! My biggest complaint is the size of the STB's hard drive and absolutely NO way to add extra space. I swear this seems like such a no-brainer to me...allow people to hook up an external hard drive!

 

You're a day or two ahead in this process and would really appreciate you keeping us updated on how your switchover goes. I am particularly interested in how the ordering of the "cable cards" goes and how you get them installed (truck roll or not) and also whether or not you're charged an installation fee. I've heard (well read actually) many different versions of how this can go, so please update us with a play by play if you don't mind.

 

If my switchover goes smoothly, I'm going to replace the other STB I have with another TiVo!

 

Good luck, I hope your install goes great!

 

Sue

 

 

Anand_Ashburn
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 6 of 15
(9,855 Views)

New TIVO HD DVR for 99$? Where?!!?? I'd dump my remaining Verizon STB in a heartbeat if I could get that deal.

 

I had two STBs. The one in the living room was bad. Bad PQ, froze up every day etc etc. So, I replaced it with a TiVo HD DVR.Absolutely love it. Even added a hard disk for additional storage.

 

Never had a problem with the STB in my basement. Then I downgraded the Home Media DVR in the basement to a regular HD DVR. They sent me a replacement STB and it's worse than the oneI had in the living room!  Multiple resets haven't worked. Another call to customer service to send me a replacement...sigh!!(unless I get the 99$ TiVo HD deal).

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 7 of 15
(9,851 Views)

@Anand_Ashburn wrote:

Never had a problem with the STB in my basement. Then I downgraded the Home Media DVR in the basement to a regular HD DVR. They sent me a replacement STB and it's worse than the oneI had in the living room!  Multiple resets haven't worked. Another call to customer service to send me a replacement...sigh!!(unless I get the 99$ TiVo HD deal).


They didn't need to send you a different DVR as the HM option is just software.  Too late now, but I wish Verizon's support was properly trained.  Some are great and others seem clueless.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Anand_Ashburn
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 8 of 15
(9,845 Views)

@Keyboards wrote:

They didn't need to send you a different DVR as the HM option is just software.  Too late now, but I wish Verizon's support was properly trained.  Some are great and others seem clueless.


 Yes, I know. The verizon tech who did the installation told me that. When I called to remove the home media DVR option, I asked the support rep twice if I really needed a new box. She was absolutely sure. The worst part is that I had a 7 series before and they sent me a 6 series that had seen better days. 

Jaime_Lee
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 884
Registered: ‎07-31-2008

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 9 of 15
(9,669 Views)

You do have the option of using TiVO with your FiOS TV service. However, please keep in mind that the TiVo Interactive Programming Guide is not a service provided by Verizon. As a result, we are not able to provide you with information or support about your TiVo service, and you will not have access to our video on demand library without a Verizon set top box.

 

If customers are finding issues with their set top box or DVR provided by Verizon, please post your issue here on the forums. Other customers may have gotten similar issues resolved. At Verizon, we want you to get the most out of your FiOS TV viewing experience!

TigerRain
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-19-2009

Re: 5 months with Fios TV, on my 4th DVR, I think I'm ready for a another!

Message 10 of 15
(9,627 Views)

So how many months must I pay for full service and never get it all features working at the same time?  How come 7x24 service is not available 7x24?

 

I never had these issues with Direct TV and TiVo.

 

I understand what I will loose by going to Tivo but at least I'll be able to reliably pause, RW/FF, record, and play back programs. You know, the major points of having a DVR.

 

If you can guarantee the basic functionality on your DVR I'll go for the 5th unit since February.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title