×

Switch Account

500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 1 of 13
(2,307 Views)

Is it possible to upgrade to the new 500GB multi room DVR without losing the programs I have already recorded on my old multi room DVR?  Can I run both multiroom DVR's in my home for a short period of time while I transition from one to another?  How have others handled this transition?

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 2 of 13
(2,302 Views)

there is no way to transfer it from one to another. once the old dvr goes, the programing goes with it. sure you can keep the old one until you watch everything on it. Just remember that you will pay for both dvr's until you return one of them.

 

 

Edit:  forgot to mention, only one of the DVR's can be the Multi-room. The other will be just a stand alone. So you will not be able to share recordings from one of them. So if the 500 becomes the mulit-room. The other will become a stand alone and you can just watch the programs on it, not on any other tv.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 3 of 13
(2,284 Views)

How do you establish which DVR is the Multi-room set - when they both have the capability?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-14-2008

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 4 of 13
(2,000 Views)

The one with the coax cable plugged into it will be the Multi-room DVR.  The other one will not have anything input to it, and will simply connect to your TV as a player.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 5 of 13
(1,897 Views)

The only way to preserve the content on the DVR you are returning is to copy it something else . I ran an S-VHS cable from the DVR to my S-VHS VCR and copied the content I want to save to Video Tape. Not HD, but at the 'best' quality, S-VHS isn't too shabby.

 

 In theory you could also burn to a DVR, although you might run into one of the copy protection schemes if you try it.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-25-2011

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 6 of 13
(1,798 Views)

Maybe I'm misreading the press releases, release notes, etc. on IMG 1.9, but I have the impression that once you get upgraded to 1.9, if you have one multi-room DVR, you can use any other DVR or set-top box to manage and view recordings from any of the DVRs, multi-room or not.  So it would no longer matter what device is where.  Am I misreading that?

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 7 of 13
(1,777 Views)

That is my understanding, and my expectation.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-22-2009

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 8 of 13
(1,759 Views)

If you can wait for 1.9, and it gets installed on your existing DVR (big IF if you currently have an 6xxx series box), and you have (or will buy) an eSATA drive, you should be able to copy your existing programs to that drive (assuming it has that capability). Then you could replace the DVR and just connect the drive to the new unit.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-22-2009

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 9 of 13
(1,753 Views)

@Bigtracks wrote:

The one with the coax cable plugged into it will be the Multi-room DVR.  The other one will not have anything input to it, and will simply connect to your TV as a player.


HUH????? How can the 2nd box not have a coax going into it? Where's the signal coming from otherwise????
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: 500 GB DVR Upgrade Transition

Message 10 of 13
(1,735 Views)

 


@misterbill99 wrote:

If you can wait for 1.9, and it gets installed on your existing DVR (big IF if you currently have an 6xxx series box), and you have (or will buy) an eSATA drive, you should be able to copy your existing programs to that drive (assuming it has that capability). Then you could replace the DVR and just connect the drive to the new unit.


 

ABSOLUTELY NOT!!

 

There is no copy capability from internal to external (or vice versa) and additionally the external drives programs are locked to the DVR they were recorded on.  Moving it to another DVR (or PC) will not work - PERIOD.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.