Actiontec router config changed remotely with service change....
adk

I know the open port on the actiontec router has been discussed in the past, but I am confident it was recently used by Verizon to make config modification to my router when a change was put in place to my service....

I've been using FIOS Internet service for close to 5 years now.  My router has the wireless disabled and internal DHCP turned off.  (I have another access point I use and a Windows 2003 server that handles DHCP.)  It's been running this way for years and the config has stayed through many a router reboot.

Last Friday I had  my service upgraded to 35/35 along with some phone and TV service changes.  About half way through the day my wife calls me at work.....the home network is acting weird.  I went home and noticed that the actiontec SSID is broadcasting so I log into it from a wired PC and the wireless is ON and so is DHCP!

Sure....could have been some odd coincidence that the actiontec decided to adjust it's configuration on the same day I had a service change, but I don't believe that.  It really does look like Verizon can and does connect to their backdoor and can and will change the configuration of your router as they see fit.

I called and asked about this and got a non-answer.  The rep at Verizon didn't confirm or deny....which I believe....they might just not know.

-adk

0 Likes
Re: Actiontec router config changed remotely with service change....
DallasTX
Enthusiast - Level 1

Thanks for the heads up.  I've had FIOS since it came to Irving.  I rarely check my Actiontec router, but I decided to check it after reading your post.  I do use the router DHCP, but I do have the wireless radio turned off.

I found everything as it should be, but then again, I haven't requested any changes.  I will definitely watch it when I do request changes.

0 Likes
Keyboards
Master - Level 3

@adk wrote: