Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Adding a new HDTV with space problems

SOLVED
Reply
jj1ask
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-27-2011

Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 1 of 8
(726 Views)

What equipment do I need for adding a new HDTV for infrequent use with space issues to an existing fios package with HD DVR?

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 7 of 8
(674 Views)

@jj1ask wrote:

Response from Samsung:

Can you watch cable such as directv or comcast on this tv?
asked 2 years, 2 months ago
Customer Avatar
JD1991
on UN55B7000 55” 1080p LED HDTV
Answers
All current generation Samsung TVs are digital cable ready. All of our TVs include an ATSC/QAM tuner that handles digital and analogue broadcast signals as well.

-MrSamsung

answered 2 years, 2 months ago

 

--------------------

As far as I know, there is not a slot for a cable card. What is the interface for the cable card?


From the Users manual

 

"nonsubscription HD broadcasts can be viewed with
no Cable Box/Satellite receiver (Set-Top Box) needed."

 

This means clear QAM. Unencrypted.

Subscrition channels such as those that would work with a cable card can not be viewed. You will need a STB.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
mattheww
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 2 of 8
(721 Views)

Depends upon what you want to do with the other HDTV, if you don't need HD, VOD or program guide, you could connect via a digital adapter. That is SD only, and the least expensive (and also the smallest). Otherwise you probably want QIP-7100p2, which is an HD STB. The QIP7100p2 is physically the smallest of the HD STB's.

 

If you want to be able to watch programs recorded on the DVR,you will need the Home Media 'option', which will allow you to play content from the DVR on other STB's in the house.

 

No matter what you do, you will need to run Coax from the splitter to the new TV, and you may need to get a splitter with more ports if your current splitter doesn't have an available port. Note that to support MoCA, you need a splitter that is two way, and good to at least 1000Mhz. Verizon normally provides these.

 

Hope that helps.

jj1ask
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-27-2011

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 3 of 8
(717 Views)

Thanks for  the feedback. I was hoping the digital adapter supported HD. I'll check out the QIP-7100p2. The TV I just purchased is a 23" Samsung HDTV 1080p. For a TV this small, will SD be just fine? Seems like a waste of capability but the price was too good to not get it.

I already have a coax run to this space through the FIOS network with MoCA for the other STB's. Right now it's just a stub.

mattheww
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 4 of 8
(700 Views)

I doubt you will be very happy with the Digital Adapter (DCT-700). It is an NTSC composite video & RF output only (no component, no HDMI), which means under the best of circumstances, you will get about 300 line resolution, and no HD channels at all.

 

The DCT-700 has only two virtues, size and price.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 5 of 8
(697 Views)

@jj1ask wrote:

Thanks for  the feedback. I was hoping the digital adapter supported HD. I'll check out the QIP-7100p2. The TV I just purchased is a 23" Samsung HDTV 1080p. For a TV this small, will SD be just fine? Seems like a waste of capability but the price was too good to not get it.

I already have a coax run to this space through the FIOS network with MoCA for the other STB's. Right now it's just a stub.


Is the new Samsung DCR ready. Check and see if it will accept a CableCard. If it does, you can get that for $3.99 a month and have all subscribed channels available, but not any of the interactive features. No VOD, no channel guide etc., but it would work like the DCT700 adaptor but in HD.

jj1ask
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-27-2011

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 6 of 8
(683 Views)

Response from Samsung:

Can you watch cable such as directv or comcast on this tv?
asked 2 years, 2 months ago
Customer Avatar
JD1991
on UN55B7000 55” 1080p LED HDTV
Answers
All current generation Samsung TVs are digital cable ready. All of our TVs include an ATSC/QAM tuner that handles digital and analogue broadcast signals as well.

-MrSamsung

answered 2 years, 2 months ago

 

--------------------

As far as I know, there is not a slot for a cable card. What is the interface for the cable card?

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 7 of 8
(675 Views)

@jj1ask wrote:

Response from Samsung:

Can you watch cable such as directv or comcast on this tv?
asked 2 years, 2 months ago
Customer Avatar
JD1991
on UN55B7000 55” 1080p LED HDTV
Answers
All current generation Samsung TVs are digital cable ready. All of our TVs include an ATSC/QAM tuner that handles digital and analogue broadcast signals as well.

-MrSamsung

answered 2 years, 2 months ago

 

--------------------

As far as I know, there is not a slot for a cable card. What is the interface for the cable card?


From the Users manual

 

"nonsubscription HD broadcasts can be viewed with
no Cable Box/Satellite receiver (Set-Top Box) needed."

 

This means clear QAM. Unencrypted.

Subscrition channels such as those that would work with a cable card can not be viewed. You will need a STB.

View solution in original post

jj1ask
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-27-2011

Re: Adding a new HDTV with space problems

Message 8 of 8
(668 Views)

Thanks for your help.  You would think that there is an external device that accepts a cable card and has the correct interface to the TV. Seems like this would be a smaller solution than the 7100p2 and provide similar capability as the digital adapter but for HDTV only.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title