×

Switch Account

All DVR recording deleted .... again !

All DVR recording deleted .... again !

Reply
Copper Contributor ANGST
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 1 of 29
(13,254 Views)

I have the Quantum DVR and a few months ago all my recording were deleted . I was told this was a "known issue" and would be fixed . This morning when I turned on my TV I saw my STB had rebooted ... guess there may of been an upgrade ?

 

Anyways recording are all gone AGAIN 

28 REPLIES 28
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,649
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 2 of 29
(13,222 Views)

Have you contacted support?

I have not seen this issue and haven't heard of any upgrades scheduled this week.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor ANGST
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 3 of 29
(13,195 Views)

Just got off the phone , still "Known Issue, will be fixed by the end of the month" . Exactly what I was told back in October or so when this happened the first time. 

 

I don't think is was update related. They seem to have an issue where they send a command that somehow erases all recordings and restarts the box . 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,649
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 4 of 29
(13,190 Views)

Or might be a hardware issue with your box.

If the HD is failing, I could see it acting like this.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor Wheller
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-06-2015
Message 5 of 29
(13,107 Views)

It is a software issue. The VMS1100 Quantum TV DVR has the potential to suffer a code failure which results in the loss of recordings. There is no permanent fix at this time.

Contributor odbobo
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2016
Message 6 of 29
(12,836 Views)

This just happened to me. I have a Quantum box for a little over a year. No problems until yesterday, when I went to DVR and it showed "No Recordings". It was previously 100% full and purging as needed. Chatted with online support who remotely rebooted the box, which did nothing, and then he told me and I quote, in order:
"A firmware is scheduled to be updated in the near future on the box to fix such issues."
"It is a known issue due to some software glitch within the box."
"We can assure you that this is not going to happen in the future as the team has taken care of this through a firmware".

Frustrating. I called support today and the lady I spoke with claimed she had no knowledge of any known issues with the Quantum boxes, even after I told her what the online rep quoted above. They both basically told me I'm out of luck, there is no way to recover the lost recordings. The lady on the phone got me a $22 credit on my bill.

I've been satisfied with Fios up to this point but this is the first time I'm inclined to look at alternatives. This is pretty horrible. If I knew it was a known issue I would've saved some important things that I had there to DVD.

Copper Contributor eryeal2
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-05-2016
Message 7 of 29
(12,791 Views)

@odbobo wrote:

This just happened to me. I have a Quantum box for a little over a year. No problems until yesterday, when I went to DVR and it showed "No Recordings". It was previously 100% full and purging as needed. Chatted with online support who remotely rebooted the box, which did nothing, and then he told me and I quote, in order:
"A firmware is scheduled to be updated in the near future on the box to fix such issues."
"It is a known issue due to some software glitch within the box."
"We can assure you that this is not going to happen in the future as the team has taken care of this through a firmware".

Frustrating. I called support today and the lady I spoke with claimed she had no knowledge of any known issues with the Quantum boxes, even after I told her what the online rep quoted above. They both basically told me I'm out of luck, there is no way to recover the lost recordings. The lady on the phone got me a $22 credit on my bill.

I've been satisfied with Fios up to this point but this is the first time I'm inclined to look at alternatives. This is pretty horrible. If I knew it was a known issue I would've saved some important things that I had there to DVD.


Wow, this can't be a coincidence .. On 2/3 the exact same thing happened to me - lost all recordings that we had, and we had a ton, mainly kids shows and movies for the children.   It's a nightmare. 

Highlighted
Contributor lwtmpvzn12
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
Message 8 of 29
(12,609 Views)

Same thing happened to me back in October.  Got a new Quantum DVR multi-family unit during that round.

 

Enter 2.13.2016:  All recordings were there last night and now showing "no recordings".

 

It's insane this wasn't fixed during the previous incident.

Contributor yankeefan710
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-14-2016
Message 9 of 29
(12,574 Views)

Just spent two hours hearing the same thing. This is what they say when they don't have a real answer. All I wanted to know was if I can expect this to happen again. I got a broken record. Thank God for Tivo

Contributor frauschlager
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-15-2016
Message 10 of 29
(12,543 Views)

I registered just so that I could say "me, too!" Hopefully the more people who post about the issue, the more seriously Verizon will take it.

 

DVR rebooted during the day yesterday (kind of odd, usually does this at night), but I noticed since my wife and I were watching Netflix at the time, and you can't miss the the sight and sound of a reboot.

 

When we later went back to watch shows that we had DVRed, they were all gone. We had been watching DVR shows earlier in the day, so I am confident this reboot is what wiped out our shows.

 

I looked to see what "should have been" recording at the time, and saw error messages (I wish I had snagged a picture) and saw that 2 shows that current should have been recording were being bumped due to insufficient space or some other error.

 

I used the in-home agent to reboot the box, and when it completed the cycle it began recording the two shows mid-show (not that this does anyone any good).

 

When I contacted support from work this morning, I was told I needed to be at the house so they could walk me through some tests. I assumed the DVR hard drive crashed or something, and was more worried about it doing so again in the future (and expected to simply have the box replaced). Now I am more frustrated as by all accounts this wasn't likely a hardware issue, but rather a software/firmware issue, and perhaps triggered by Verizon pushing out fixes.

 

Needless to say, many hours of lost TV (some of which I will have to pay to purchase to watch elsewhere). The backlog on the DVR was alway an anchor against cord cutting. If I have a future of crashing DVR boxes in my future, I'm not sure that anchor is as solid as it used to be.

 

Note - Verizon isn't volunteering any compensation for your loss when you call. For the hundreds of dollars a month I pay in equiment and TV/Internet charges, one would think Verizon would go to greater lengths to "make things right". 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.