Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Am I even getting HD quality picture?

SOLVED
Reply
mvidaure
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2011

Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 1 of 10
(4,829 Views)
Hello,
We just bought a new HD tv and wanted to make sure it was actually taking advantage of HD. Our last tv was also HD but when we disconnected all the cables, the only cable connecting the old tv and the Set Top Box was the coax cable that goes into the RF IN. There was also a cable with GREEN/BLUE/RED and WHITE/RED components connected to the older tv but weren't even connected to the Set Top Box. There's no green/blue/red plugs in the box so I don't know where to plug them in. I also have an HDMI cable but the Set Top Box doesn't have a port for that either.
In short, am I getting HD or not with just the white coax cable connecting my new tv to the Set Top Box? Is that cable DTV/TV?
Thank you,
Miguel V.

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 7 of 10
(4,754 Views)

The 2500 is an SD only box.  Won't tune or display HD.

 

You need to get an HD box.  Outside of Northern NJ and NYC Metro the HD boxes cost $4 a month (each) more than you are currently paying for the 2500s.

 

HD models are the 7100, 7216, or 7232 (the last 2 are DVRs and are $15.99 per month).  I'm assuming that Verizon is no longer distributing thw 6xxx HD series since they won't fully support the next software upgrade.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 2 of 10
(4,812 Views)

You sound like you don't have an HD box. You need to get an HD box and connect it with the HDMI cable or the component cable for HD.

mvidaure
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2011

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 3 of 10
(4,800 Views)

 

I thought that too but, according to the CUSTOMIZE YOUR TV section on My Verizon, I have two Set Top Boxes that have the following features (according to the site):

• Works on High Definition or Standard Definition TVs
• Watch HD and standard definition programming
• Access to extensive Video On Demand library with HD and SD content
• Interactive Media Guide

If the site is telling me that I have these SEt Top Boxes, then I should right? Unless Verizon gave me non-HD boxes. 

Thank you

 

greinstein
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-18-2009

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 4 of 10
(4,794 Views)

 


@mvidaure wrote:

 

I thought that too but, according to the CUSTOMIZE YOUR TV section on My Verizon, I have two Set Top Boxes that have the following features (according to the site):

• Works on High Definition or Standard Definition TVs
• Watch HD and standard definition programming
• Access to extensive Video On Demand library with HD and SD content
• Interactive Media Guide

If the site is telling me that I have these SEt Top Boxes, then I should right? Unless Verizon gave me non-HD boxes. 

Thank you

 


If the box has a plug for a HDMI cable, connect that way.  If no HDMI plug, probably not aHD box.

 

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 5 of 10
(4,792 Views)

How to tell is simple, what model STBs do you have? The model number is on the front of the STBs, in the lower left corner.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP7232, IMG 1.8, Build 02.54
Keller, TX 76248

mvidaure
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2011

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 6 of 10
(4,757 Views)

Thanks for your help guys.

 

Justin, the model number is QIP 2500-3. I tried looking it up on google yesterday but couldn't find any info on it.

 

So, if they aren't HD boxes, will they replace them free of charge since I asked for HD boxes?

 

-Miguel

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 7 of 10
(4,755 Views)

The 2500 is an SD only box.  Won't tune or display HD.

 

You need to get an HD box.  Outside of Northern NJ and NYC Metro the HD boxes cost $4 a month (each) more than you are currently paying for the 2500s.

 

HD models are the 7100, 7216, or 7232 (the last 2 are DVRs and are $15.99 per month).  I'm assuming that Verizon is no longer distributing thw 6xxx HD series since they won't fully support the next software upgrade.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 8 of 10
(4,744 Views)

ask them to upgrade, and that you want to take advantage of the CPE bundling price,  they bundle the cost of cable boxes, and the more you have the better and cheaper they get. 

mvidaure
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2011

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 9 of 10
(4,738 Views)

Thanks everyone for your help. I knew there was something weird; it just didn't look like HD despite MY VERIZON telling me that I had one.

 

Take care,

Miguel

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Am I even getting HD quality picture?

Message 10 of 10
(4,736 Views)

As Keyboards said, that is an SD box, so you will never, ever get an HD picture from it, you one of the HD boxes. How long have you had the QIP2500? Verizon has stopped distributing those, you can't even order one any more, been that way for several months I think.

 

To get an HD box, you can contact the Verizon ordering department by phone or chat, or you can log into MyVerizon and order from there. Typically they will ship a box to you. And if you don't get one of the HD DVRs, as Keyboards said the price outside NY/NJ will be $10/mo (rounded).

 

Anyway, the key is, you have an SD box and need an HD box to get an HD picture on your HD TV.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP7232, IMG 1.8, Build 02.54
Keller, TX 76248

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.