Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Reply
DrCamphill
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-21-2018

Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 1 of 28
(7,222 Views)

This is really annoying. When I turn my tv on in the morning I'm greeted with "Press Menu to watch Fios TV". So in the dark I have to find the Menu button. This is a Arris STB and there is no Menu>>Settings>>STB  option to turn off screensaver.   The STB auto-poweroff is set to None therfore it is in standby/screensaver and not actually turning off.

 

How can I get the STB to stop going to screensaver? OR how can the remote be programmed so when I press the TV ON button it also sends the Menu command? 

27 REPLIES 27
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,963
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 2 of 28
(7,173 Views)

If auto power off is set to none and no one is turning STB off, then it should be available as soon as you turn on TV.

I have my DVR set to auto none and is on ready to go every morning when I turn on TV.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
DrCamphill
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-21-2018

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 3 of 28
(7,168 Views)

Auto power off is set to NONE.  I don't see a DVR option to change. I am the only one here so I am sure I'm not turning off the STB, espcially because it's on the screensaver when I turn on the TV.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,963
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 4 of 28
(7,160 Views)

What model stb?

If you turn of tv, wait a couple of minutes and turn it back on, is screensaver on?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
DrCamphill
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-21-2018

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 5 of 28
(7,106 Views)

I have the Arris VMS1100.  I can leave the TV on forever and the screensaver never goes away until I press Menu.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,963
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 6 of 28
(7,080 Views)

Sorry I wasn't clear.

Have TV and STB on.

Turn TV off.

Wait a couple of minutes.
Then turn TV back on.

Is STB still on or is screensaver on?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
DrCamphill
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-21-2018

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 7 of 28
(7,064 Views)

I turned the tv off and I fell asleep on the couch for almost 90 minutes. When I awoke the STB display was still showing the channel. I turned the tv on and the screensaver was NOT on.  It appears there is some screensaver feature that kicks in sometime after 90 minutes.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,963
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 8 of 28
(7,058 Views)

Only other thing I can think to try is to setup auto power off to say 2 hours.

Then go back and set it to none.

Maybe something isn't stored correctly and hopefully this would fix it.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
DrCamphill
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-21-2018

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 9 of 28
(7,009 Views)

Nada. Still goes to sleep. Every monring I get the dreaded screensaver. Doesn't seem to be a way to turn it off in the 1100 STB.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,963
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Arris STB - "Press Menu to watch Fios TV"

Message 10 of 28
(6,992 Views)

I leave my vms1100 on all the time. And never get the screensaver.

Only other option is some sort of power glitch or box is going bad.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.