Arris VMS1100 IR Sensor Location

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-29-2014

Arris VMS1100 IR Sensor Location

Message 1 of 5
(17,019 Views)

Swithced 4 DVRs to new Qunatum FIOS. I now have 2 bigger DVRs and 2 clients. Picture quality and speed are better.

 

My pet peeve is the IR sensor location. All home theater equipment should have the IR sensor clearly marked since many of us put the equipment in closets or out of site. I use Xantech for my IR blaster and it works well with most equipment. I cannot find a good location for the blaster on the VMS1100. Has anyone got this working?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Arris VMS1100 IR Sensor Location

Message 3 of 5
(17,006 Views)

@billjwolff wrote:

Swithced 4 DVRs to new Qunatum FIOS. I now have 2 bigger DVRs and 2 clients. Picture quality and speed are better.

 

My pet peeve is the IR sensor location. All home theater equipment should have the IR sensor clearly marked since many of us put the equipment in closets or out of site. I use Xantech for my IR blaster and it works well with most equipment. I cannot find a good location for the blaster on the VMS1100. Has anyone got this working?


The sensor is on the right side of the display, about 1 inch to the right of the right-most digit. If you get a flashlight and shine on the front panel at an angle it is easy to see. It seems to be pretty sensitive, just covering it with my finger did not block it from working, but using a pad of paper did block it. So it seems to me that placement should not be a really big issue, but then I don't use an IR blaster.

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV: Extreme HD, Internet: 50/50, Digital Voice
VMS Enhanced Service: 1 server, 2 clients
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,898
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Arris VMS1100 IR Sensor Location

Message 2 of 5
(17,011 Views)

Intersting enough, it isn't noted in the instruction manual either.

Have you tried just moving it around?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Arris VMS1100 IR Sensor Location

Message 3 of 5
(17,007 Views)

@billjwolff wrote:

Swithced 4 DVRs to new Qunatum FIOS. I now have 2 bigger DVRs and 2 clients. Picture quality and speed are better.

 

My pet peeve is the IR sensor location. All home theater equipment should have the IR sensor clearly marked since many of us put the equipment in closets or out of site. I use Xantech for my IR blaster and it works well with most equipment. I cannot find a good location for the blaster on the VMS1100. Has anyone got this working?


The sensor is on the right side of the display, about 1 inch to the right of the right-most digit. If you get a flashlight and shine on the front panel at an angle it is easy to see. It seems to be pretty sensitive, just covering it with my finger did not block it from working, but using a pad of paper did block it. So it seems to me that placement should not be a really big issue, but then I don't use an IR blaster.

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV: Extreme HD, Internet: 50/50, Digital Voice
VMS Enhanced Service: 1 server, 2 clients
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-29-2014

Re: Arris VMS1100 IR Sensor Location

Message 4 of 5
(16,994 Views)

I also tried the flashlight trick and saw a small circle to the right of the time/channel display characters. I placed the IR blaster over that and it is working reliably.

 

Sure hope someone at Verizon adds this to the documentation. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: Arris VMS1100 IR Sensor Location

Message 5 of 5
(16,656 Views)

This is completely accurate and was a huge help. Thanks for the post.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.