Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Aspect Ratio Not Staying in HD

Reply
Fairfax
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2009

Aspect Ratio Not Staying in HD

Message 1 of 5
(4,515 Views)

All of a sudden the aspect ratio for my HD channels is dropping to 4:3.  I can reset it to the correct 16:9 with the remote, but when I change channels it changes back to 4:3.  I initially thought that the PBS program I was watching on an HD channel was actually just SD, but I checked the Olympics on NBC and a program on Discovery, both of which I knew were HD broadcasts.

4 REPLIES 4
cws1970
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-27-2009

Re: Aspect Ratio Not Staying in HD

Message 2 of 5
(4,452 Views)

I am having a similar issue.  I will have a widescreen 16:9 image but if I switch channels to a SD channel, the picture goes into 4:3 mode.  If I go back to the 1st channel, it stays in a smaller, non wide screen mode (even if it is an HD channel).  I can turn the TV on and back on and the same channel is back in wide 16:9 view (HD or SD).  It seems like the Fios box is adjusting screen modes as I change channels.  Any ideas? 

ekem015
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Aspect Ratio Not Staying in HD

Message 3 of 5
(4,441 Views)

Try messing around with the SD override setting in the STB video settings.

tsauter
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009

Re: Aspect Ratio Not Staying in HD

Message 4 of 5
(4,360 Views)

Try setting the SD Override to OFF and see if the problem still exists. Also you can try switching cable types, HDMI to Component or visaversa.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Aspect Ratio Not Staying in HD

Message 5 of 5
(4,343 Views)

everytime I've seen this problem it's because there is an audio receiver or home theatre system that someone has plugged an hdmi cable into.   and the receiver is pushing it back to 4:3

 

if thats the case, then there is a setting in the receiver that allows for an hdmi pass through to fix the issue.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.