Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Reply
jumpin68ny
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 1 of 10
(7,569 Views)

Many times my kids will look for the Disney Channel which is 250 but may accidentally push 2500.  Since 2500 does not exist it will switch to the highest channel available which is channel 1951, adult comedy channel.  This channel has inappropriate stuff on it and I wanted to know if there was a way to default the TV to a different channel.  I know I can always add parental controls but if it defaulted to channel 2 or something more appropriate that would be better.

 

Thanks

Jim

 

9 REPLIES 9
matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 2 of 10
(7,548 Views)

There's nothing you can do about someone entering a wrong channel number. It goes to the next lower number available. If there was a channel 130 and then 135, and you entered 134, it would go to 130.

DMacL
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-16-2009

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 3 of 10
(7,536 Views)

Agree that this is inappropriate for the default for the higher range mistakes on channels....

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 4 of 10
(7,505 Views)

It's highly innappropriate that it does that, normally it goes to the comedy channel. 

 

what you will want to do is block that channel individually

 

Go to menu -> settings -> parental control

enter a 4 digit code

confirm a 4 digit code

Go into the parental control menu. 

make enable on off have a check mark next to on

go down to control channel, and find the offending channel number in the list and block it,  you will see a little lock appear indicating that it's blocked.

 

also go to hide adult information and make sure that it's hidden with a check mark next to hide. 

 

and that should at least help out a little bit.

jumpin68ny
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 5 of 10
(7,477 Views)

Thanks for the tip. I will block that channel....

 

Jim

 

Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 6 of 10
(7,032 Views)

I just noticed the VHO3 now has a Channel 1952 (FiOS TV tutorials), so when you do a bad channel change it doesn't come up with the Urge COmedy channel.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 7 of 10
(7,027 Views)

 


@Carl wrote:

I just noticed the VHO3 now has a Channel 1952 (FiOS TV tutorials), so when you do a bad channel change it doesn't come up with the Urge COmedy channel.


Carl, thanks for the info, good find. I just checked and we have it here in VHO1 also. I don't have any idea if that is why Verizon chose that channel number but it certainly is a simple solution, at least for now.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7C, Build 09.83
Keller, TX 76248

matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 8 of 10
(6,998 Views)

Yeah, thanks Carl. We don't have it here in NY yet. It must be the channel that's currently on 131, I guess they are moving it? It was probably out of place and hard to find at 131. 1952 (the last channel) makes more sense.

Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 9 of 10
(6,974 Views)

 


@matcarl wrote:

Yeah, thanks Carl. We don't have it here in NY yet. It must be the channel that's currently on 131, I guess they are moving it? It was probably out of place and hard to find at 131. 1952 (the last channel) makes more sense.


 

 

Still have 131 out here.

 

I still like how the SA boxes from TWC managed invalid channel changes. It just blinked "----", and stayed on the current channel.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Bad channel brings up Adult Radio Channel

Message 10 of 10
(6,966 Views)

 


@Carl wrote:

 

Still have 131 out here.


Yeah, 131 is still on here too. Showing exactly the same thing

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7C, Build 09.83
Keller, TX 76248

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.