Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Brand New Samsung UHD/ Fios Handhsake Flashing

SOLVED
Reply
ronandkatie1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-10-2015

Brand New Samsung UHD/ Fios Handhsake Flashing

Message 1 of 5
(1,301 Views)

Hello Everyone, just purchased a brand new 65 Samsung 4K UHD and have an Arris VMS1100 cable box. The screen flashes on and off like it’s a handshake issue every 5 seconds or so. Is there some sort of setting I’m missing or is set up incorrectly on the box, tv? Cannot find anything but knew years ago Samsung has handshake issues with Verizon. Have an newer HDMI directly from cable box to TV so no 3rd party hand off from audio. Thanks for the help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,704
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Brand New Samsung UHD/ Fios Handhsake Flashing

Message 3 of 5
(1,278 Views)

Try rebooting the box by removing power, then plugging back in. If it's still messed up, odds are the HDMI cable you are using is not 4K certified. The 1100 is having handshake issues with the TV probably  because the input you are using on the TV is set to 4K. If so, set it to 1080 as the 1100 box is not capable of sending 4k out, the TV may be looking for it. There should be a setting in the TV input menu to disable enhanced HDMI on that input, or try another input on the tv.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,322
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Brand New Samsung UHD/ Fios Handhsake Flashing

Message 2 of 5
(1,281 Views)

@ronandkatie1 wrote:

Hello Everyone, just purchased a brand new 65 Samsung 4K UHD and have an Arris VMS1100 cable box. The screen flashes on and off like it’s a handshake issue every 5 seconds or so. Is there some sort of setting I’m missing or is set up incorrectly on the box, tv? Cannot find anything but knew years ago Samsung has handshake issues with Verizon. Have an newer HDMI directly from cable box to TV so no 3rd party hand off from audio. Thanks for the help.


https://www.verizon.com/cs/groups/public/documents/adacct/vms1100_install_ops_manual-s.pdf

 

Try the above user manual. I am not familiar with the tv service on verizon fios. 

Maybe someone with a better answer will chime in.

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,704
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Brand New Samsung UHD/ Fios Handhsake Flashing

Message 3 of 5
(1,279 Views)

Try rebooting the box by removing power, then plugging back in. If it's still messed up, odds are the HDMI cable you are using is not 4K certified. The 1100 is having handshake issues with the TV probably  because the input you are using on the TV is set to 4K. If so, set it to 1080 as the 1100 box is not capable of sending 4k out, the TV may be looking for it. There should be a setting in the TV input menu to disable enhanced HDMI on that input, or try another input on the tv.

View solution in original post

Dewey565
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-22-2020

Re: Brand New Samsung UHD/ Fios Handhsake Flashing

Message 4 of 5
(501 Views)

Changed settings from 2160 to 1080 and problem seems to be taken care of. Thank you!

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,013
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Brand New Samsung UHD/ Fios Handhsake Flashing

Message 5 of 5
(497 Views)

This thread will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title