×

Switch Account

CHS435HDC DVR - recorded show but won't play

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

CHS435HDC DVR - recorded show but won't play

Message 1 of 5
(23,894 Views)

I've been recording a few series over the last couple months with no issues.  This past Sunday night, Game of Thrones recorded, but when I tried to watch it last night, it bounced right to live TV.  The show was listed under my recordings, it had all the info and record time listed, but just would not play.  My DVR is 18% full.

Searching the forums, this problem has shown up here and there over the last 4 years, but mainly 2009/2010.

Anyone else having this issue or have suggestions?

DVR is a CHS435HDC DVR, was installed in mid February 2013.

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: CHS435HDC DVR - recorded show but won't play

Message 2 of 5
(23,833 Views)

Assuming that you get HBO are trying to watch the recording on the DVR that recorded it and not through another STB, I've only read one posting that said they recovered the recording by performing an Auto-Correct. Everyone else eventually gives up and deletes it. Give it a try and let me know.

 

Auto Correction Function

(Caution: this process will reset/reboot the boxes selected. If you are planning to use this function on a DVR, make sure that no recordings are currently in process or scheduled to take place in the next several minutes or partial loss of recording will occur.)

The functions below are either a remote control button or a menu item. Either press the remote control button or use the navigation arrows on the remote to find/highlight/enter the menu option.

Choose one of the following three pathways:

Menu > Customer Support > Fix FiOS TV Issues > OK
Menu > Customer Support > In-Home Agent > Fix FiOS TV Issues > OK
Menu > Customer Support > In-Home Agent > Set Top Box Auto Correction > OK

Regardless of which pathway you choose, they all lead you to the same place. After entering the Set Top Box Auto Correction menu, use the navigation arrows to highlight Auto Correct My STB/DVR, then press the OK button, then press the Right Arrow button. On the second page use the navigation arrows to highlight the box(es) that are malfunctioning, pressing the OK button to select each one (OR just press ' 1' to select all the boxes at once), then press the Right Arrow button. On the third page press the Right Arrow button. The box(es) will reset. Check to see if your problem is solved.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: CHS435HDC DVR - recorded show but won't play

Message 3 of 5
(23,824 Views)

Good point - yes, I do get HBO.

I was trying to watch it on the DVR that recorded it.

Tried the Auto-correct.  It took a few minutes for the signal came and rebooted the box (throught it would be a few seconds), and the recording is no longer listed under My recordings.  Not the correction I was looking for, but thanks for the suggestion.

the program is on-demand, but I concerned that it could happen to something that is not on-demand as a backup.

 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: CHS435HDC DVR - recorded show but won't play

Message 4 of 5
(23,805 Views)

Wow! I apologize both for the suggestion and for my laughter at your response. That is definitely not the correction I had in mind either. At least I know not to suggest it again. Glad that you are able to find it On Demand. Otherwise I would have also suggested to search for a repeat of the episode using the Search feature or trying to find it on the hbogo.com website.

 

I used to get this problem fairly frequently with the first 6416 that I received. Only get it once in a blue moon now. Not sure if it became more rare because I swapped out that DVR or because an update plugged the hole. I was trying to narrow down the problem back when I was getting it all the time. I started thinking that maybe it had something to do with using On Demand while recording as that seemed to frequently cause jumps and skips when entering or leaving the On Demand menu or shows while a recording was taking place. But the problem stopped happening as often before I could narrow it down.

 

Hope that this is the last time this happens to you.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-25-2013

Re: CHS435HDC DVR - recorded show but won't play

Message 5 of 5
(23,461 Views)

This will not be the last time, this issue is still happening.  For 4 years....  And yet, no tech on the phone or online has ever heard of it.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.