CableCard Problem Fox channels DRM

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2020

CableCard Problem Fox channels DRM

Message 1 of 6
(405 Views)

I have a HD HomeRun prime and I cannot see any of the fox channels like 617 or 618 listed. I've called tech support and they were able to get the channels listed sometimes, but they are marked as DRM protected. Is there anyway someone can change these to copy free for my account?

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: CableCard Problem Fox channels DRM

Message 2 of 6
(360 Views)

@airedwin wrote:

I have a HD HomeRun prime and I cannot see any of the fox channels like 617 or 618 listed. I've called tech support and they were able to get the channels listed sometimes, but they are marked as DRM protected. Is there anyway someone can change these to copy free for my account?


You need to talk to the business people to get your account reset. Tech cant do that.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2020

Re: CableCard Problem Fox channels DRM

Message 3 of 6
(353 Views)

How do I do that? What is an account reset?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: CableCard Problem Fox channels DRM

Message 4 of 6
(346 Views)

@airedwin wrote:

How do I do that? What is an account reset?


Look here:

https://www.verizon.com/support/residential/contact-us/contactuslanding.htm

Tell them you are having authentication issues and need to have the account reset.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-05-2020

Re: CableCard Problem Fox channels DRM

Message 5 of 6
(195 Views)

I was bitten by this issue for all DRM channels (FS1, Fox News, Fox Business, National Geographic, and perhaps others).  I have a multistream CC in a TiVo Bolt.

 

I spent 1+ hours with Verizon support, who finally decided to replace the cable card.  Which of course, did nothing.

 

But here's where it gets interesting....

 

After another 2.5 hours on chat support with the new Cable Card still not working, I was increasingly sure that there was no recourse.  But eventually, after a mysterious "escalation to the backend team", the channels started WORKING!

 

They wouldn't tell me what the backend team did, or even acknowledge that it was a DRM issue, but I have a sneaking suspicion that because I basically threw a fit and threatened to drop Fios multiple times, the backend team was able to remove the CCI flags on my account.  That seems like the only explanation (unless they have some other trick to keep those flags, but teach the CC to properly decode them, although if that's true, I'm not sure why it wouldn't have just worked out of the box)

 

So for anyone seeing this thread, maybe all hope is not lost.  It'll cost you 4 frustrating hours of your life, but if you scream loud enough, it does appear that Verizon can resolve it.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-01-2012

Re: CableCard Problem Fox channels DRM

Message 6 of 6
(114 Views)

After spending 4+ hours on the phone with FiOS support and trying 2 different CableCards I had no luck getting DRM channels to play on an HD HomeRun.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.