×

Switch Account

Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-07-2009

Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 1 of 8
(6,909 Views)

Hi everyone,

 

I'm a frustrated Mac user. I understand that I can't utilize the Home Media DVR because I don't have a PC and I would need to install software. Here's my question:

 

It looks like the Home Media DVR contains two features: Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager (and the software is just for Media Manager.) I only want to be able to utilize Multi-Room DVR. Is there a way to separate the two so I can have Multi-Room DVR functionality without having to install any software? I can live without Media Manager, but I'd really love to watch recorded programs from bed!!

 

This is so frustrating. I bought all the necessary equipment for Multi-Room DVR (HD DVR and HD set top box) and I can't even take advantage. Ugh! It would've been nice to know beforehand about the PC-only requirement.  

 

Thanks for your help on this.

 

Redfran 

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-02-2009

Re: Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 2 of 8
(6,902 Views)
The Home Media DVR feature does not require anything with your Computer service. Like you said only the Media Manager requires a PC.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-07-2009

Re: Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 3 of 8
(6,877 Views)

Thanks mrags. Do you know how I could enable just the Multi-Room DVR? When I try to use the STB to enable it, the message says I need to sign up for Home Media DVR (which includes Media Manager, which in turn requires a PC to download the software). I just want to be able to use the Multi-Room DVR. 

 

Do you know how I can set that up?

 

Thanks again.

 

Red 

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-02-2009

Re: Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 4 of 8
(6,865 Views)
Home media dvr and Media Manager are seperate so you don't need to download or activate anything via the computer to use Home Media. It is strictly done through stbs. So technically you have to purchase both b/c they are one in the same but you don't have to use media manger to use Home Media.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 5 of 8
(6,857 Views)
Verizon has to turn on the multiroom DVR feature for you. Are you paying the $19.99 monthly fee?
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-07-2009

Re: Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 6 of 8
(6,800 Views)

When I called Verizon a few weeks ago about enabling the multi-room DVR feature, the rep said since I didn't have a PC (Mac only) that I couldn't download the software for the Home Media DVR. When I tried explaining that I just wanted the multi-room DVR feature, she seemed mighty confused. 

 

But it seems like you guys are saying it is possible. I understood that there would be a monthly fee to use the multi-room DVR, but it can't be $19.99. Is that right? 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 7 of 8
(6,798 Views)
It is only $5 more the the normal DVR. Right now you pay 14.99 for the DVR. To get the MR-DVR to work they charge you 5 extra bucks, and they enable the MR-DVR to work. You will not need new equipment or anything its just a service. 
Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Can Multi-Room DVR and Media Manager get a divorce?

Message 8 of 8
(6,733 Views)

Hello Redfran,

 

Sorry for the confusion and hassle you are getting trying to get this feature.  The service comes with three parts now.  The first is the functionality of your non DVR boxes to read off of the DVR hub in your home.  The second is the media manager software and the third is the remote dvr service found on www.verizon.com/fiostvcentral .  All three features come with the service and it is perfectly acceptable if you don't/can't use them all.  They will be there for you in the future if you ever bought a PC.  If you wish to have the feature enabled please PM your personal info I will be more than happy to assist. 

 

TS

TheSanchez
Verizon Telecom
Verizon Content Management Center




Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.