Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-13-2013

Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 1 of 9
(6,559 Views)

As of 7pm yeaterday, I can no longer cast from Google Chrome to my settop box. The boxes don't show up in the browswer anymore. I have reset the browser, cleared the cache and reset the computer. I shut down the box as well. I was watching a video that suddenly stopped and would not go back to the TV.

 

We have been able to cast for most of this year. What the heck happened?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,417
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 5 of 9
(6,187 Views)

No Problem using this setup.

Been working for several years now.

I choose what to cast UPSTAIRS with my iPad 

                                                                                                                         \/

                                                                                                                         \/

                                                                                                                           

EQUIPMENT LAYOUT w CROMECAST ULTRA  2 17 2018 .jpg

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎10-09-2008

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 2 of 9
(6,537 Views)

You aren't really casting to your set top box, you are casting to your TV,  or another device like a chromecast.

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2018

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 3 of 9
(6,223 Views)

That's not correct.  It's definitely the FIOS box.  My TV isn't a smart tv and this works for me.  I accidently discovered it a few weks ago!  I don't know why Verizon doesn't market this.  It's a really nice easy to use feature.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 4 of 9
(6,210 Views)

What model STB do you have?

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,417
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 5 of 9
(6,188 Views)

No Problem using this setup.

Been working for several years now.

I choose what to cast UPSTAIRS with my iPad 

                                                                                                                         \/

                                                                                                                         \/

                                                                                                                           

EQUIPMENT LAYOUT w CROMECAST ULTRA  2 17 2018 .jpg

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-26-2018

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 6 of 9
(5,863 Views)

i have the same issue ever since installing netgears Orbi to extend the wifi through the  house.  i have to disconnect my cell phone from the orbi ssid and connect to the verizon router.  only then will the cable boxes show up in the list of devices to cast to.  seems that if i switch back to orbi it continues to work for a few hours, allowing me to control the content being cast to the fios stb.  im sure theres a way to bridge these subnets to allow a more seamless experience but as of yet haven't found a way.....

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-31-2018

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 7 of 9
(5,739 Views)

As is the case with most things with Verizon. If they actually had techs field these customer issues I'm sure things would get fixed or identified and reported much easier. That is the problem with these Community Help Pages, You'll get numerous answers and rarely the one that helps, with that being my opinion.  I also noticed the ability to cast to my TV via my chrome browser, as I actually gave 4 options coinciding with the 4 boxes in my house. It was very nice for Verizon to add that option, hopefully they won't go Apple on us and start charging for it. I was just about to pull the trigger and pick up a Chromecast Puck off Amazon but it for the meantime looks like I don't need it, although it is a very huge disappointment to not be able to watch my DVR content from my laptop or desktop computer, even when home on my own network, maybe we'll get lucky and they'll get with the times. As for your issue, I find that odd that it did work, then stopped. I don't think it would have anything to do with the channel on your WiFi Router because the box is hardwired. Hope you get it sorted and working again. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 8 of 9
(5,698 Views)

The OP was stating he could cast to his STB, not his tv or other device.

Have never seen that as a possibility.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,417
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: Can no longer cast from Chrome to Verizon Settop box

Message 9 of 9
(5,409 Views)

I agree with Rob's answer you dont cast to STB's

PLEASE GO HERE for a wealth of solutions to any concerns of yours.

NEW CHROMECAST COMMUNITY FORUM

https://support.google.com/chromecast/community/?hl=en&vid=0-612426091785-1550161683385

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.