×

Switch Account

Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor ijomama
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017
Message 1 of 9
(9,601 Views)

So I just bought a new TV (a LG OLED) which comes with its own universal remote (the Magic Remote) that you can set up to control other devices in your system. I have set it up to control the Verizon STB and it works fine, but I still find it convenient sometimes to use the Verizon Universal Remote (P265 v5) to access certain functions on the STB. But the one function I can't control with the Verizon remote anymore is the Volume. UGH! So my question: Is there a way to get volume control back to the Verizon remote without losing STB functionality on the LG Magic Remote? I'd like to be able to use both. Thank you.

 

P.S. It doesn't seem to matter if the Volume Control setting on the STB is set to FIXED or VARIABLE. 

8 REPLIES 8
Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,509
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 2 of 9
(9,570 Views)

Does Verizon remote turn TV off and on?

If so, there are instructions in the user guide on how to make changes to control volume.

Google model number if you don't have a user guide.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor ijomama
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017
Message 3 of 9
(9,513 Views)

No, not since I set up the LG Magic Remote to control the STB. But most functions on the Verizon remote still work, functions like MENU, GUIDE, DVR controls, directional, etc.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor Miketee
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-25-2018
Message 4 of 9
(9,456 Views)

I had this same issue the night I got FIOS installed. I had to call customer support and they ran me through a few codes to rest the remote. After about 5 or 6 codes, I regained volume control on the remote. I suggest you give them a call or chat.

Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 1,067
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 5 of 9
(9,383 Views)

Turn tv on with lg remote. Press ok and 0 on remote simultaneously and red light will stay on at top of remote. Then put in 3 digit code. I think lg code is 210 then press play until you tv turns off. Then press ok. Red light will go off then it will be programmed for lg. 

Contributor ijomama
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017
Message 6 of 9
(9,276 Views)

Thank you Miketee. I'll call them as my last resort.

Contributor ijomama
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017
Message 7 of 9
(9,275 Views)

Hey. your instructions sound promising but I'm a little confused. I get the part about turning on the TV with the LG remote, but the rest of the steps are they on the LG remote or the fios remote?

Contributor Milodad
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-21-2018
Message 8 of 9
(8,019 Views)

Thanks for the info.  Worked the first time to my amazement.   Cool! 

Contributor mich54
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2019
Message 9 of 9
(2,143 Views)

I don’t have LG.  what can I do instead? 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.