×

Switch Account

Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 1 of 12
(21,120 Views)

So I just bought a new TV (a LG OLED) which comes with its own universal remote (the Magic Remote) that you can set up to control other devices in your system. I have set it up to control the Verizon STB and it works fine, but I still find it convenient sometimes to use the Verizon Universal Remote (P265 v5) to access certain functions on the STB. But the one function I can't control with the Verizon remote anymore is the Volume. UGH! So my question: Is there a way to get volume control back to the Verizon remote without losing STB functionality on the LG Magic Remote? I'd like to be able to use both. Thank you.

 

P.S. It doesn't seem to matter if the Volume Control setting on the STB is set to FIXED or VARIABLE. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,854
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 5 of 12
(20,880 Views)

Turn tv on with lg remote. Press ok and 0 on remote simultaneously and red light will stay on at top of remote. Then put in 3 digit code. I think lg code is 210 then press play until you tv turns off. Then press ok. Red light will go off then it will be programmed for lg. 

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,872
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 2 of 12
(21,057 Views)

Does Verizon remote turn TV off and on?

If so, there are instructions in the user guide on how to make changes to control volume.

Google model number if you don't have a user guide.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 3 of 12
(21,000 Views)

No, not since I set up the LG Magic Remote to control the STB. But most functions on the Verizon remote still work, functions like MENU, GUIDE, DVR controls, directional, etc.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-25-2018

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 4 of 12
(20,943 Views)

I had this same issue the night I got FIOS installed. I had to call customer support and they ran me through a few codes to rest the remote. After about 5 or 6 codes, I regained volume control on the remote. I suggest you give them a call or chat.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,854
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 5 of 12
(20,881 Views)

Turn tv on with lg remote. Press ok and 0 on remote simultaneously and red light will stay on at top of remote. Then put in 3 digit code. I think lg code is 210 then press play until you tv turns off. Then press ok. Red light will go off then it will be programmed for lg. 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 6 of 12
(20,763 Views)

Thank you Miketee. I'll call them as my last resort.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 7 of 12
(20,762 Views)

Hey. your instructions sound promising but I'm a little confused. I get the part about turning on the TV with the LG remote, but the rest of the steps are they on the LG remote or the fios remote?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-21-2018

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 8 of 12
(19,506 Views)

Thanks for the info.  Worked the first time to my amazement.   Cool! 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2019

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 9 of 12
(13,630 Views)

I don’t have LG.  what can I do instead? 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-19-2020

Re: Can't control volume with the FIOS Universal Remote

Message 10 of 12
(934 Views)

Any suggestions 210 code doesn't work. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.