Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Change to Weather Widget

Reply
ElizabethA
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2012

Change to Weather Widget

Message 1 of 9
(1,838 Views)

I am incredibly disappointed with the change to the weather widget.   The appeal of the widget was that I could easily check the current and future weather without changing the channel!   Now, when I select the weather widget it takes me to a muted weather channel screen that only displays current conditions, not future ones, and does not even seem to offer an option to see future weather conditions.   THe absolute worst is that it takes me away from whatever I was watching and to get back to it I have to exit out of the weather widget.   If I wanted to be redirected to a different channel I would go to the weather channel, not use the widget. 

I cannot overstate how much I HATE this change.  Is there a way for me to change it back to the way it was?

8 REPLIES 8
Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 2 of 9
(1,797 Views)

First, there are multiple tabs on the displayed page that include Alerts, Future  and current.

 

Second, if you want, go back to widgets and seledct the old Weather Bug and you'll have what you always dgad.

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
mouse157
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-02-2009

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 3 of 9
(1,761 Views)

I also hate the change because when I go to expand the weather ,now I am getting Dallas weather but I live in NYC,what happens tried to delete Dallas ,but it keeps returning.

ElizabethA
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2012

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 4 of 9
(1,715 Views)

@Keyboards wrote:

First, there are multiple tabs on the displayed page that include Alerts, Future  and current.

 

Second, if you want, go back to widgets and seledct the old Weather Bug and you'll have what you always dgad.

 




thank you - that was helpful!  I re-added the weatherbug widget.  Is there to remove the weather channel widget from the group that appears at the top of the screen when I press  the widget button on the remote control?

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 5 of 9
(1,705 Views)

@ElizabethA wrote:

@Keyboards wrote:

First, there are multiple tabs on the displayed page that include Alerts, Future  and current.

 

Second, if you want, go back to widgets and seledct the old Weather Bug and you'll have what you always dgad.

 




thank you - that was helpful!  I re-added the weatherbug widget.  Is there to remove the weather channel widget from the group that appears at the top of the screen when I press  the widget button on the remote control?


Unfortunately I have not found a way to remove the Weather Channel Widget (or any of the other "default" widgets like Barbie - UGH!).

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 6 of 9
(1,687 Views)

@Keyboards wrote:

Unfortunately I have not found a way to remove the Weather Channel Widget (or any of the other "default" widgets like Barbie - UGH!).

 



Do you think maybe Verizon is being paid to place the widgets that can't be removed on the main widget window? 

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 7 of 9
(1,648 Views)

@PJL wrote:

@Keyboards wrote:

Unfortunately I have not found a way to remove the Weather Channel Widget (or any of the other "default" widgets like Barbie - UGH!).

 



Do you think maybe Verizon is being paid to place the widgets that can't be removed on the main widget window? 


What a cynical view <sarcasm off>

 

Of course they are, why else would Helmans mayonaise be one of the "widgets" that used to be where Barbie is now.

 

Just like the polluting of the guide with VOD listings that appear as channels - but I digress.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 8 of 9
(1,636 Views)

Ah but a great digression!

Beelzel
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-18-2011

Re: Change to Weather Widget

Message 9 of 9
(1,568 Views)

Also to add, perhaps (hopefully) not everyone else is suffering like I am ... this AM it took a minute and 12 seconds to load.

Yep, cancelled the first attempt ... thought it was a force close situation ... but, kept trying and still all loading times over one minute.

NOT TO MENTION ... why does it keep defaulting to Dallas...

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.