×

Switch Account

Close Captioning and STBs--HELP!!

Close Captioning and STBs--HELP!!

Reply
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 11 of 14
(2,399 Views)

Well, there are a couple things you can look at.

 

1. I seriously doubt that ALL channels are encoding incorrectly.  If it was just a few, I would say call the station but if it is ALL of them, I doubt this is your issue

 

2. Is it one tv or do you have multiple 2500's and multiple TV's. If multiple, does it happen on all?  If so, it is not likely a tv issue. To have more than one TV with the same issue and failing at the same time is not likely. If only one, try taking the 2500 and connecting it to another tv that has the cc working and make sure it is still working. If this works, time to have the tv fixed/replaced

 

Now just because the Verizon broadcast didnt change, doesnt mean that the software/firmware on the stb's hasnt changed. If it is affecting multiple boxes and tv's.... then PM me and I will get it listed on our outage system and get it over to the engineers for you.

Message Edited by spacedebrismark on 06-22-2009 12:18 PM



====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-20-2009
Message 12 of 14
(2,393 Views)

Yeah, I only tested a handful of channels.Later tonight I will test more.

 

The TV's are all different brands, and we are experienced CC users. We all have 3 Motorola 2500's  and 1 Motorola 2708. 

 

Could this just be a temporary thing, should I wait a few more weeks before doing more intense callaing of Verizon and Local stations?

 

Edit: On a whim, while tesiting stations, I reset all of our STB's. Once they were reset, CC started working again. I appreciate all the help I recived in this thread.

Message Edited by MarkZeo on 06-22-2009 12:37 PM
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 13 of 14
(2,388 Views)

Well, it will definatly be a temporary issue, since if it is affecting all your boxes and all your tv's then it will be either a broadcast issue (the channels themselves) in which case once they are notified  it will be corrected, or it will be a Verizon issue in which case if worst comes to worst may require new firmware to the stb's to add CC controls to the standard def boxes as well as the the HD boxes. No company will intentionally leave the situation as is. Not only is this a customer relation issue, it is also a required service. Just have to isolate the problem.

 

Like I said, after you try it out on all channels and tv's if it is happening everywhere, just PM me with your home phone number and I will pull up your acct and forward it over to the engineers.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 14 of 14
(2,386 Views)

Edit: Post removed because problem was fixed by re-booting STBs.

Message Edited by Justin on 06-22-2009 03:26 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.