Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

SOLVED
Reply
ahyan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2014

Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 1 of 8
(8,810 Views)

Anyone else having this issue?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ahyan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2014

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 3 of 8
(8,751 Views)

FYI - I figured out how to fix this.

 

Once you're watching the On Demand show, pause it and do the following:

 

Click options button on your remote > select closed captions> select options> select closed captions

 

Then change the Service Selection to CC1

 

 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ramosag
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2014

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 2 of 8
(8,794 Views)

Yeah me too....I dont understand it either.  Prior to the update...it would show up to 6 CC options....now its just on and off.  There seems to be some issues with FIOS right now.  FRUSTRATING!

ahyan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2014

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 3 of 8
(8,752 Views)

FYI - I figured out how to fix this.

 

Once you're watching the On Demand show, pause it and do the following:

 

Click options button on your remote > select closed captions> select options> select closed captions

 

Then change the Service Selection to CC1

 

 

View solution in original post

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 4 of 8
(8,734 Views)

It was already true on other Verizon STB and I believe is now true with 1.9.7 on all of them.

 

Its not a mistake.  They wanted to resolve some user complaints that people had because all CC channels 1-6 had to be flicked through when normally only CC1 was english, CC2 was spanish, and rare cases CC3 other languages.  Now the CC button is just on or off.  If you want to adjust the options or settings menu allows you to set CC channels/fonts/etc.

audreyg
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-01-2012

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 5 of 8
(8,188 Views)

WE have STD box and there using the options button does not give us CC when using on demand.  Any ideas?  We have tried the settings/accessibility, etc. and no luck.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 6 of 8
(8,183 Views)

I don't thing STD boxes ever had CC done by the box, I think it was always done for them by the TV.

Gracie0911
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-15-2019

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 7 of 8
(3,549 Views)

@ Ahyan Thank you and after 5 years your trick still worked for me. 

GaryDM
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2,075
Registered: ‎07-06-2016

Re: Closed Caption doesn't work with On Demand?

Message 8 of 8
(3,543 Views)

In order to keep discussion on the community current, this topic has been locked to prevent new replies. If you have a similar question or issue that you wish to discuss, then please feel free to post a new message on the most relevant board. Thanks!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.