Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Closed Captions issues

SOLVED
Reply
Guideoptions
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-20-2018

Closed Captions issues

Message 1 of 17
(10,610 Views)

A couple of questions/complaints about CC with FIOS

 

1.  The fonts are absolutely horrible.  All other providers have standard fonts, I have tried all combinations and they are all terrible. 

 

2.  There is no CC button on the FIOS remote!  In order to turn on CC I have to go through about 5 steps within the System menu to turn them on.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 7 of 17
(10,499 Views)

My understanding is that you can use voice control to turn on CC.

Or you can turn it off and on via the menu under settings.

Or if you happen to have an older remote, you can use that to control new STB.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 2 of 17
(10,578 Views)

The star button below the 7 is the CC button. 

Guideoptions
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-20-2018

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 3 of 17
(10,569 Views)

The button below the 7 key is "info"  There is no star key

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 4 of 17
(10,561 Views)

You remote doesn't look like this one?


verizon_rc2655008-01b_2.jpg
Guideoptions
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-20-2018

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 5 of 17
(10,533 Views)

No.  that is the old remote.  The new one has voice activation, and no CC key.

 

https://www.verizon.com/home/accessories/fios-tv-voice-remote/

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 6 of 17
(10,526 Views)

Oh sorry. Those boxes are so new I forgot about them. I wonder if the voice control can turn on the closed captioning. Give that a try. 

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 7 of 17
(10,500 Views)

My understanding is that you can use voice control to turn on CC.

Or you can turn it off and on via the menu under settings.

Or if you happen to have an older remote, you can use that to control new STB.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Stirling
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-16-2019

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 8 of 17
(10,398 Views)

Hello...just did the upgrade STB with voice activated remote...the closed caption is horrible...tried many changes...did you get this fixed?

Frustrating
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-23-2019

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 9 of 17
(9,327 Views)

Yes I also did figure out you can use voice.  This said, the captions are still horrible.  And you should also be able to turn them on/off with a button.

NewtoFiOSBB
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-27-2019

Re: Closed Captions issues

Message 10 of 17
(8,682 Views)

Why is this marked as a solution when it doesn't answer the user's question?  Could a moderator please remove the "go to solution" color change and link as this doesn't answer either of the questions the OP asked.

 

Also, no offense, but it would be nice to hear from an actual FiOS employee do they ever answer any of these questions on these forums?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title