Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Reply
jobrienfios
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-06-2009

Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 1 of 11
(12,901 Views)

I have a Sony 32" XBR BRAVIA model TV connected to my FIOS box via HDMI1.  I bought a Sony Bravia home theater system and connected it directly to the TV via HDMI2 jack.  It works but I have to use the TV remote to switch between HDMI1 and HDMI2.  Then use the TV/AUDIO remote and the Fios remote to control functions.

 

Is there a way to connect the HTS so the FIOS remote will control everything, and everything will be on HDMI1?  Seems like I should be able to go from the HTS to the FIOS STB and then to the TV via the HDMI1 connection.

 

Thanks for any help you can offer.

 

John

 

 

10 REPLIES 10
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 2 of 11
(12,884 Views)

There have been users that have gone from STB to HTS and then to TV. But some of the HDMI handshaking may get lost  between the STB and the TV. Many users have just skipped the HDMI on the HTS for FIOS and opted to use the fiber output from the STB to the HTS. I have an older HTS and did just that with component cables for the HTS and fiber for the STB to the HTS. The only reason I would need a video connection for the HTS was to see the menus on screen. Others have purchased a Logitech Harmony Remote that will control everything and let you program different modes of operation for one touch configuration of everything. There are multiple systems buttons on the Verizon remote that will alow you to control multiple devices just like any other universal remote, but it is no way near some of the Harmony Remotes' features.

JoeK
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-26-2008

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 3 of 11
(12,881 Views)

I think you have the connections wrong.  You shouldn't connect the FIOS box direct to the TV and then connect the HTS to the TV with a 2nd input.   I have a different system but the basic connection setup should be the same.  I have my FIOS Box connected to the Home Theater System and then that connects to the TV.  The HTS sens the picture to the TV and the sound to the HTS speakers.  I leave the TV sound turned all the way down.  When I press the Power button on the FIOS remote it turns on/off all three components.  To change the Volume level on the HTS I press AUX on the remote and then raise/lower/mute volume

jobrienfios
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-06-2009

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 4 of 11
(12,867 Views)

Verizon set up the FIOS directly from the STB to the TV because I did not have the HTS at teh time, so I thought that was the way it had to go.

 

When I got the HTS I followed their directions to connect the receiver to the TV using the HDMI cable that came with the HTS.  Since HDMI1 was in use I connected to HDMI2.  It does work, it's just a pain having to use different remotes to change the input, etc.

 

How hard is it to program one of the universal remotes?  Would I still have to change the connections between the HTS and the STB?

 

I apologize for all the questions, but this is new to me.

 

Thanks.

 

John

robk_11
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 5 of 11
(12,853 Views)

your set up should be fios to HTS HDMI input then HDMI output from HTS to HDMI 1 (or 2 not both) input on the tv.  that way the HTS is controlling your audio/video switching.  then keep the TV on HDMI 1 (or 2 if that is what you chose).   do you have other components (DVD, game system, etc.) hooked up through the HTS? then a universal remote would be great for switching sources.  logitech harmony is always a good choice.

 

hope this helps.

jobrienfios
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-06-2009

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 6 of 11
(12,850 Views)

my HTS only has a HDMI out jack, not an input jack.  it does have a tv/video (digital/optical) jack, a dmport jack, a component video out jacks, a video out jack, tv/video (audio in r/l) jacks and a ezw-rt 10 slot.  that's all according to the user guide.

 

is there another way to connect from the STB to the receiver?

 

thanks again.

 

john

 

robk_11
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 7 of 11
(12,829 Views)

what make/model is the HTS.  if i can see the hook ups i'm sure we could figure it out.  seems strange there are outputs but no inputs on the receiver...

robk_11
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 8 of 11
(12,825 Views)

i read back and saw it is a sony bravia.  there is only an HDMI out for the built in DVD player (but you knew that already!).  unfortunately with that set up you are going to have your switching problem.  that is the downside of not having a seperate receiver.  my best advice is go for a logitech harmony remote.  you can program it to automatically switch everything with the push of a button for macros ie watch TV, watch DVD, etc.

 

they are really easy to program.  you do it online and they ask what components you have and what you want them to do.  simple as that.

BrianMcD
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 9 of 11
(12,808 Views)

If your HTS does not have a HDMI Input Jack then you should use a HDMI Cable to connect the Verizon STB to the TV and a Toslink Optical Cable from the STB to the HTS.  The HDMI Cable will provide your TV with the HD Video Signal and Audio for use by the TVs Speakers and the Optical Cable will provide your HTS with Dolby Digital Sound.  You can mute the TVs Speakers and set up the Verizon Remote to control the HTS for Audio Levels.

 

I have my older HDTV Set up this way, except with Componet Video Cables, and it works great.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
jobrienfios
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-06-2009

Re: Connecting a home theater system to a HD STB

Message 10 of 11
(12,792 Views)

yes, the HTS is a Sony  DAV-HDX589W with a built in DVD player.  There is only a HDMI output jack, no input.

 

If I leave the HDMI connection from the STB to the TV, can I use the video component cable to go from the HTS to the TV?  Will that let me use teh HTS speakers for the TV as well as the stereo?

 

This is my first attempt at installing a HTS.  My past tv experience has been with cable tv and a cable ready TV, and a vcr/dvd combo unit.  It was a simple coax in to the vcr/dvd and then from there to the tv.  All these other connections are over my head since I don't understand how they interconnect.  Are there good online basic tutirials anyplace?

 

Thanks again to everyone for your suggestions.  I'm still listeningSmiley Indifferent

 

John

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title