Connecting on Set Up Box to 2 TV's?
PaulN3

I am considering subscribing to FIOS TV.  However, I want to ensure I can use all my current TV's should I do so.  Right now I have a master bathroom TV, wall mounted, where a  coax cable comes out of the wall right behind the TV.  There is also an electrical outlet behind the TV.  There is no setup box. 

Since this is a bathroom, I don't want a box of any kind, as I assume it would have to be within line of sight for a remote to work, and would have to be either mounted on a new shelf on the wall or on the vanity.  I wouldn't find either acceptable from a cosmetic or safety perspective.

So, I guess I have two choices:

1.  use no set up box, and get whatever channels are available directly (and I'd have to buy a new TV, as the current one doesn't have a QAM tuner).

2.  figure out a way where somehow the TV can be linked to a setup box in the bedroom, where there is an HD TV, and for which I would use a setup box. 

I've grown quite used to being able to watch TV in the bathroom in the morning, getting ready for bed, etc., so I need a reasonable compromise, even if it doesn't include getting 100% of what I could get.  Any suggestions?  Many thanks.

0 Likes
Re: Connecting on Set Up Box to 2 TV's?
chinorider
Enthusiast - Level 3
I am using a single cable box to run 2 TV's.  I bought a very simple Next Generation Remote Control Extender fro Amazon that will control the STB from up to 80 feet away.  I used the RF output from the STB to get the signal to the 2nd TV.  Works fine but NOT HD...only SD.
0 Likes
PaulN3
Many thanks.  I too a look at the remote extender, and that would seem to eliminate the need for the STB within the bathroom.  Forgive my ignorance, but could you explain in more detail how you got the signal from the STB to your second TV?  Not familiar with that kind of setup, so any explanation would be much appreciated.
0 Likes
vinnyv07
Contributor - Level 1