Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Copying favorites to other boxes?

SOLVED
Reply
bkb3677
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-29-2010

Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 1 of 16
(8,501 Views)

Is there a way to copy my favorites from one box, to my other boxes?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 2 of 16
(8,472 Views)

There isn't, but I think it would be a great idea if they enabled the USB port, so that you coudl just put personal settings onto it, and then you could walk over to any of your other boxes and load favorites that way.  or if they built something in that would "copy to all"  or something similiar.    I'll throw it in the idea exchange, and hopefully people will vote for it and add it.

 

 

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 2 of 16
(8,473 Views)

There isn't, but I think it would be a great idea if they enabled the USB port, so that you coudl just put personal settings onto it, and then you could walk over to any of your other boxes and load favorites that way.  or if they built something in that would "copy to all"  or something similiar.    I'll throw it in the idea exchange, and hopefully people will vote for it and add it.

 

 

View solution in original post

matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 3 of 16
(8,399 Views)

I think I read something recently where they were going to fix this in a future release where you can copy Favorites to other boxes.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 4 of 16
(8,356 Views)

 


@Hubrisnxs wrote:

There isn't, but I think it would be a great idea if they enabled the USB port, so that you coudl just put personal settings onto it, and then you could walk over to any of your other boxes and load favorites that way.  or if they built something in that would "copy to all"  or something similiar.    I'll throw it in the idea exchange, and hopefully people will vote for it and add it.

 

 


It gets my vote, but I also like Joe's idea. Why we can't just manage favorites online for STB and DVRs. Seems like a simple software update on the web site. Managing DVR favorites is the only thing I see. That needs to change, where parental controls and favorites for DVR and STB can all be managed online.

 

DMitch
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-20-2011

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 5 of 16
(7,009 Views)

It would get my vote.  I just spent an hour filtering through the channels I DON'T get that show up on the regular guide, added my favorites, rechecked my list and still had listings that I'm not subscribed to.  What a pain!!!  I'm becoming sorry I left DISH.  They made it so easy!  If you didn't like a channel, you blocked it, and it never showed back up on the guide.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 6 of 16
(7,000 Views)

 


@DMitch wrote:

It would get my vote.  I just spent an hour filtering through the channels I DON'T get that show up on the regular guide, added my favorites, rechecked my list and still had listings that I'm not subscribed to.  What a pain!!!  I'm becoming sorry I left DISH.  They made it so easy!  If you didn't like a channel, you blocked it, and it never showed back up on the guide.


 

And that is how Favorites works. So I don't understand your comment. Set up your Favorites, set that Favorites list as your default, and unless you choose to, never see those channels again. And if you decide later on to add or delete a channel, just use the Options button and do it, about 3 clicks.

 

So, what is difficult about using Favorites? Or maybe asking a different way, how are you trying to use Favorites?

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP7232, IMG 1.8, Build 02.54
Keller, TX 76248

jamesd3rd
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-02-2010

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 7 of 16
(6,934 Views)

I'd like something like that to backup shows when your DVR is getting replaced.  On two occasions I had to have my DVR replaced and had at least 10 different shows still recorded.  Unless they were on On Demand or re-aired, they were lost.  It would be nice to be able to use some sort of 'cloud' service or someother way to store those shows so they are not lost.

 

The only way to preserve them that I could think of is to play them back and record them on VHS.  But who still uses those things?  And if anyone has tried it, what is the playback quality like?

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 8 of 16
(6,924 Views)

 


@jamesd3rd wrote:

 

The only way to preserve them that I could think of is to play them back and record them on VHS.  But who still uses those things?  And if anyone has tried it, what is the playback quality like?


 

I actually do have a VCR hooked up to my DVR.  If you record at the 2 hour speed the quality is acceptable (at least to me).  HD shows will be letterboxed in the 4:3 format.

 

If you have a DVD recorder, you can also playback and record the shows there.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 9 of 16
(6,211 Views)

I know this thread is a several years old but I thought I'd bump it up because I'm still looking for the feature being discussed.

 

I just got a new STB and have to go through and manually create a new favorites list.  We have multi-room DVR and it would sure work for me if I could create the favorites list on the DVR box and have that list shared with the rest of our STB's.

 

If I've missed finding it and this option is already available I will sure appreciate hearing how to use it.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Copying favorites to other boxes?

Message 10 of 16
(6,205 Views)

@eljefe wrote:

I know this thread is a several years old but I thought I'd bump it up because I'm still looking for the feature being discussed.

 

I just got a new STB and have to go through and manually create a new favorites list.  We have multi-room DVR and it would sure work for me if I could create the favorites list on the DVR box and have that list shared with the rest of our STB's.

 

If I've missed finding it and this option is already available I will sure appreciate hearing how to use it.


That option is available, I have used it.

 

You may have to search a little for the settings as I think Verizon has restructured the Settings with the new 1.9.5 level of the IMG, which you may or may not have yet. I have 1.9.5, on that level the process is:

 

On the DVR:

 

Menu ==> Settings ==> System ==> Save Settings

 

Then on any STB(s):

 

Menu ==> Settings ==> System ==> Restore Settings

 

Note that this process will also transfer your Parental Controls and Guide Preferences (and would transfer your Series Recordings Schedule if you restored it on another DVR). Also note that the settings are saved in the Cloud for only 30 days, and if you have saved settings to the Cloud from more than one STB (or DVR) you are given the choice of which STB's settings to restore. Once you do the restore the STB will reboot.

 

Again, I have used this procedure to copy my Favories and other settings from my DVR to an HD STB, I just did it again on 1.9.5 to make sure it still worked. And if you have multiple STBs you can easily transfer settings from any HD box to any other HD box (I don't know about SD boxes, don't have any, and all of my HD boxes are current Motorola models).

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.5
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title