×

Switch Account

DVR Recordings to Computer

DVR Recordings to Computer

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-23-2009
Message 1 of 7
(10,792 Views)
I plan on getting Verizon Fios in a couple of days, whether or not this is correct or wrong doesn't matter, I just want to know whether to get the DVR or not. I know that from the wall the coax goes into the DVR then a coax goes from the DVR to the TV. Well instead of routing it to the TV, when I want to transfer a recording I would plug it into my TV tuner. What I want to know is, assuming the TV Tuner will accept it which it should because it accepts my cable right now, will the coax cable still transfer the HD feed to it? I believe I read that the box that Verizon installs just re-encodes the feed or something along that line to work with the Coax cables already in the home. If that's true then I technically shouldn't have a problem doing what I want to do correct? Also, if someone has already done this, I assume that the TV Tuner would only pick up like channel 3 and I would have to change the station via DVR box? Thanks for any help, I hope I worded that correctly so everyone understands what I'm trying to do. If you don't understand please ask so I can try to re word it. Thanks!
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
Message 2 of 7
(10,718 Views)

Not real certian on what you are asking.

 

The connection would be:

 

Verizon ONT---Coax Cable (RG6)--->Coax Splitter--->Wall Jack---Coax Cable (Rg6)--->Verizon HD STB or DVR

 

The Verizon STB would be connected to a HD TV with either an HDMI Cable or Component Cables to provide it with a High Definition Signal.  Connecting a Coax Cable from the STB to the TV will NOT Provide a HD Signal.

 

Our ability to transfer a recording from the DVR to a Computer is rather limited.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 3 of 7
(10,704 Views)

Ok, if I understood correctly. You want to connect a DVR to your tv. But you also want to be able to connect your DVR to the computer so that you can transfer the show to the computer, but you want to be able to get the HD programming on the computer.

 

 

If this is the correct connection that you are talking about, then the answer is no. The coax output on the STB will not output a HD signal. Only the component or HDMI outpouts on the DVR will output a HD signal.

 

 

Now if your computer has a digital tuner (QAM) then you will be able to connect the coax straight from the wall to the computer (bypassing the dvr) and you will be able to get the LOCAL ONLY channels that are provided by Verizon, then if those channels have HD you will be able to get the HD to the computer that way. But that limits you to the Local channels only and none of the cable style channels (tnt, usa, spike, etc)

 

Hope this helps




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-23-2009
Message 4 of 7
(10,681 Views)
Okay thanks, I wasn't sure if it was possible or not, doesn't look like it now unless I get a capture card with an HDMI input most likely. Thanks for the help everyone!
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 5 of 7
(10,660 Views)

 


@DCsportFan wrote:
Okay thanks, I wasn't sure if it was possible or not, doesn't look like it now unless I get a capture card with an HDMI input most likely. Thanks for the help everyone!

 

 

A capture card with HDMI input probably won't work due to the security handshake from the STB preventing copying to other than a "secure" device.  Don't you just love the world of DRM Smiley Mad .

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-23-2009
Message 6 of 7
(10,655 Views)

{word filter avoidance} Why doesn't Verizon just make a DVR like Tivo where we can transfer things to the Computer?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 7 of 7
(10,602 Views)

1. Tivo has been at it a lot longer than Verizon. They have been able to make and fix many features that Verizon is just now getting into

 

2. Fear of copyright infringement. Tivo is still under the gun for making it possible to transfer copyrighted material to a computer making it possible for someone to broadcast it to the internet without the permission of the owner. Many DVR makers are still in fear of this. Tivo is just willing to take a chance that many major providers are not willing to. We have to give props to Tivo for having the guts to do this but they ARE taking a BIG chance should the powers that be find against them




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.