×

Switch Account

DVR Schedule not Refreshing due to Guide not Refreshing

DVR Schedule not Refreshing due to Guide not Refreshing

Reply
Contributor DCNatFan1
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 1 of 7
(2,054 Views)

I have several series set-up to record on the DVR and noticed last night in my schedule that next weeks show is not scheduled to be recorded.  I went to the guide and scrolled to the date and time of the show and sure enough it was there and was a new episode so it should be in the DVR schedule.

 

As I was scrolling through the guide I noticed the guide updating as I scrolled through it.  The problem appears to be that the guide is not updating unless I manually scroll through it.

 

Anyone else have this issue?  Fix?

6 REPLIES 6
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 2 of 7
(2,029 Views)

Since your STB is getting some updates, it doesn't sound like a connectivity issue.  Perform an STB reset or autocorrection and see what happens.

Contributor DCNatFan1
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 3 of 7
(2,011 Views)

Tried that prevous to posting here with no success.  Also tried a live chat with technical support and they were unable to resolve - tried resetting box and modem but no luck.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 4 of 7
(1,995 Views)

From what I can tell, the DVR appears to only be prompted to update its Guide data if:

  • it has 7 or less days available
  • you scroll forward in the Guide past the available data

My Guide averages 10 days. It seems to max out at 12-14 days. Scrolling forward in the Guide only updates the screen data that you are viewing, meaning if you skip forward or don't scroll up and down, this data may not load immediately. And currently there is no function available to manually prompt a Guide data update.

 

I just posted an Idea suggestion regarding a solution to this issue. Please go here to add your voice and your vote.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎04-12-2011
Message 5 of 7
(1,960 Views)

@lacticacidtrip wrote:

From what I can tell, the DVR appears to only be prompted to update its Guide data if:

  • it has 7 or less days available
  • you scroll forward in the Guide past the available data

My Guide averages 10 days. It seems to max out at 12-14 days. Scrolling forward in the Guide only updates the screen data that you are viewing, meaning if you skip forward or don't scroll up and down, this data may not load immediately. And currently there is no function available to manually prompt a Guide data update.

 

I just posted an Idea suggestion regarding a solution to this issue. Please go here to add your voice and your vote.


As lacticacidtrip mentioned ,Guide dta may not be available for 2 weeks.However when the recording schedule time comes, DVR will have the latest guide data and it starts recording .

 

 

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
Message 6 of 7
(1,868 Views)

my guide DOES NOT UPDATE when I scroll past the available data.

I've waited as long as 30 minutes just leaving the screen on while doing something 

else, and it just stays on PLEASE WAIT..........

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 7 of 7
(1,852 Views)

Hi jabrennan1016,

 

I've never found that waiting more than a few seconds on a Guide screen that tells me to wait actually produces a result. If your STB and router are functioning properly, and you're not trying to go beyond the two-week limit in the Guide, whenever I get stuck on a Please Wait screen, I skip ahead a day or two until it does update, then return to the time period that refused to update. It may take a time or two, but this usually gets the job done. Yes I know, another workaround to another glitch. But it seems to work.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.