Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

DVR constant rebooting

SOLVED
Reply
Omni-Potent
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-26-2009

DVR constant rebooting

Message 1 of 6
(5,402 Views)

Anybody else experience a constant rebooting of their DVR. There are other symptoms also. Like the standard STBs in the house will freeze up and require powering them down and rebooting. And my internet connection has been much slower doing this same period, and sometimes quit working altogether. A Verizon tech came out and replace my WAP/Router and network box outside the house, but that only fixed it for 24 hours. Someone in tech support rebooted the network box a couple of days ago, and that fixed it for another 24 hours, but internet connection still stays slow. I'm on the 20/5 service. All the speed test sites show a download speed of 5-10mb. Only the Verizon site will show 20mb. These "other" sites always showed 20mb's of download speed like the Verizon site when I first got the service. I just find it odd that these other outside sites show a slower speed now at the same time I'm having trouble.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Omni-Potent
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-26-2009

Re: DVR constant rebooting

Message 2 of 6
(5,361 Views)

This problem appears to be fixed. The tech came out and put in a another network box, and the newest wap/router. The new wap/router seems to have done the trick. The tech's explanation is...... Since the last change to the Verizon TV menu/guide there has been issues with some users. He thinks the firmware on the router was the root cause.

 

Anyhow, connection speed test are back to the speed they once were and no more STBs locking up and or rebooting on there own. I'll give it another 72 hours and then we can call it fixed.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Omni-Potent
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-26-2009

Re: DVR constant rebooting

Message 2 of 6
(5,362 Views)

This problem appears to be fixed. The tech came out and put in a another network box, and the newest wap/router. The new wap/router seems to have done the trick. The tech's explanation is...... Since the last change to the Verizon TV menu/guide there has been issues with some users. He thinks the firmware on the router was the root cause.

 

Anyhow, connection speed test are back to the speed they once were and no more STBs locking up and or rebooting on there own. I'll give it another 72 hours and then we can call it fixed.

View solution in original post

Teasip
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-03-2009

Re: DVR constant rebooting

Message 3 of 6
(5,349 Views)
I'm using my AT behind an Airport Extreme solely as a NIM and I still see issues.
Omni-Potent
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-26-2009

Re: DVR constant rebooting

Message 4 of 6
(5,343 Views)

@Teasip wrote:
I'm using my AT behind an Airport Extreme solely as a NIM and I still see issues.

 

But your Verizon supplied router still has interaction with your STBs. You network conntection goes through it first doesn't it? Why would using the AE make any difference?
Teasip
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-03-2009

Re: DVR constant rebooting

Message 5 of 6
(5,341 Views)
That's my point.  Even with the AT in the background I see issues intermittently.  In other words, maybe another source than just the AT.
Omni-Potent
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-26-2009

Re: DVR constant rebooting

Message 6 of 6
(5,257 Views)
I would have to call this problem fixed at this point.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title