Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Deleted everything on DVR and still shows up as 13% full

Reply
bert868
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-19-2010

Deleted everything on DVR and still shows up as 13% full

Message 1 of 4
(640 Views)

I just deleted everything on my DVR because I am sending it back.  However, when I deleted everything it still says that it is 13% full.    this means that I was never able to use he full capacity of the dvr.  Has this happened to anyone else and is there anything that I can do to prevent it.  Why did this happen?

3 REPLIES 3
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,963
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Deleted everything on DVR and still shows up as 13% full

Message 2 of 4
(600 Views)

Have you tried a power reset of the DVR?

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
bert868
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-19-2010

Re: Deleted everything on DVR and still shows up as 13% full

Message 3 of 4
(592 Views)

Yes it has been restarted many times. 

lacticacidtrip
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 377
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: Deleted everything on DVR and still shows up as 13% full

Message 4 of 4
(582 Views)

I've had many issues over the years with inaccurate capacity estimates and incorrect hour tallies. The percentages can take a little while to adjust themselves. I've noticed that quite often if you've just deleted a program, the percentage given at the bottom of the screen updates immediately. But if you go straight from that deletion to the Check Capacity option of the DVR menu, it will usually still give the old reading (pre-deletion). Return immediately to the recordings list and look at the estimate and it will have changed back to the old reading (pre-deletion), even though nothing new is being recorded. Wait a couple minutes, check again, and both readouts will be correct. All this tells me is that the programming isn't up to snuff. And this is when everything is functioning correctly. Then you get into the issues of recordings that don't contain correct time stamps. These can really foul the estimates. I've had disk usages claiming that there were tens of thousands of hours of recorded material on my DVR (not possible). I've also had Disk Usage estimates that claim I only had a few hours used, even though I knew my disk was almost full. Then when you finally delete the recording that is fouling the estimate, everything goes back to normal. Bottom line, these are only estimates. They do not indicate actual usage and any number of factors could be throwing them off.

 

If you've been getting somewhere within the hour ranges listed below, you've probably been getting what you paid for.

 

80 GB: 40 in SD

160 GB: 55 to 100 in SD, or 14 to 21 in HD
250 GB: 80 to 150 in SD, or 20 to 30 in HD
320 GB: 110 to 210 in SD, or 30 to 45 in HD
500 GB: 175 to 222 in SD, or 45 to 73 in HD

 

If it really bothers you, you can try an Auto Correct. That might set it straight.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.