×

Switch Account

Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2012

Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 1 of 13
(6,845 Views)

Hi, I just signed on to verizon FIOS. I have the new Motorola HD DVR,  7232-P2 HD DVR.

 

My current setup: HDMI cable from DVR to TV. Optical cable from DVR to home theater receiver.

 

The audio output to my speakers is not working. I know that my audio receiver is fine and so is the cable because, I connected my playstation with the same cable in the same port on the receiver and the sound works just fine. Plus, I used the same cable on the same port with my old Time Warner DVR  for the last two year just fine.

 

Also, the Motorola DVR has optical, dgital coaxial and USB ports. I tried all three on my receiver and none of them work. All three of those cable worked with other devices on my receiver. I was given a replacement DVR box and the exact same issue persists!

I have spent many hours on hold  with technical support and they have been of absolutely no help! So I was hoping someone here might have come across this issue and was able to come up with a solution.

 

 

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 2 of 13
(6,835 Views)

Optical should work but you may have to change settings on the STB.  For example if your TV cannot handle Dolby Digital it must be set to output Linear PCM.

 

THe other connections you mentioned are not enabled for verizon service,  Motorola markets a basicly similar box to others that may use them.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2012

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 3 of 13
(6,827 Views)

So I am trying to use the optical cable from the DVR to my home theater systems receiver not to the tv. I have an HDMI cable going to the TV, which works fine. I am trying to use the TV only for video, the audio I would like to have from my speakers. But couple of things you mentioned are useful, i didnt realise that verizon had disabled the other coaxial digital output and the usb cable. You also mentioned something about setting the DVR output to Linear PCM, but I dont think I saw anything in the DVR settings to change that.

 

Thanks for your help!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2012

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 4 of 13
(6,819 Views)

Can you please let me know how I can change the settings on the DVR to get the optical cable to work?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2012

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 5 of 13
(6,802 Views)

Has anyone been able to use the optical cable from the motorola 7232 dvr for audio output successfully?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 6 of 13
(6,787 Views)

I have the optical output connected to my AV receiver.  My TV is connected via HDMI.  I only bother turning on the A/V receiver if I think the program has significant Audio content that I want to hear in better quality or surround sound.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 7 of 13
(6,785 Views)

I also successfully use the optical output from the DVR 7232 to my older receiver. Double check your connections, and check the inputs and digital assignments for your receiver as well. Barring a mechanical problem with the DVR, I find the problem is usually misprogramming the receiver.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2012

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 8 of 13
(6,745 Views)

Strange, I have gone over my connection many times and it looks correct. I even tried using the same cable on my PS3 to the same port on my receiver and it works fine. So I can imagine it being misprogramming the receiver or not doing the right connection. Unless I should be using a special type of optical cable for the DVR? Is your connection an optical out of the DVR with an optical in or do you have some special cable which converts the optical out to SPDIF or something like that?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2012

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 9 of 13
(6,744 Views)

So do you for the most part use the TV speakers for the sound or are you getting the sound coming through the home theater system? The optical cable you have, is it the standard TOSLink cable or is there a different type of optical cable that you are using for the DVR? Thank you for your response!

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Digital audio output not working on new Motorola HD DVR!

Message 10 of 13
(6,720 Views)

I am using the standard Toslink optical cable with the squarish ends, connected from the "optical out" on the DVR to one of several "optical in" ports on the receiver. It is necessary on my receiver to go into the receiver menu to assign the optical port its digital association, in this case "DVR". I didn't have to fiddle with the DVR menu at all. You might try turning on the DVR and receiver, and cycling through all your options like TV, DVR, CD, AUX and so on to see if there is a missed assignment - you may get the audio from an unexpected output.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.