Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Disable information bar

Reply
WonderWarthog
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-09-2020

information bar on DVR

Message 11 of 19
(938 Views)

How can one disable the information bar when watching a DVR?  It is especially annoying that it shows up now when you jump - it didn't used to.  And I don't need to see that I jumped 10 seconds each time.  There should be an option to disable this nonsense completely.

clem53
Gold Contributor IV Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,655
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: information bar on DVR

Message 12 of 19
(887 Views)

@WonderWarthog wrote:

How can one disable the information bar when watching a DVR?  It is especially annoying that it shows up now when you jump - it didn't used to.  And I don't need to see that I jumped 10 seconds each time.  There should be an option to disable this nonsense completely.


Try Menu>notifications>guide banner>disable.

WonderWarthog
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-09-2020

Re: information bar on DVR

Message 13 of 19
(865 Views)

I already had it set to 'disable'.  That apparently doesn't matter when watching DVR.

Skizzie1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-10-2018

Re: Disable information bar

Message 14 of 19
(842 Views)

I already had the Now & Next Guide set to ZERO seconds because in the settings under zero it states “press ok to TURN OFF the Now & Next guide display during channel changes”. BUT IT DOES NOT WORK. It stayed up on the screen for a really long time under zero. So I changed it to 2 seconds and it goes away quicker.
I HATE THIS NEW FIOS because I spend so much time pushing exit, pushing info, pushing options, pushing settings and I never get to actually watch anything! I am looking at xfinity or anyone else at this point. FIOS SUCKS!

RG625
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-03-2019

Re: Disable information bar

Message 15 of 19
(766 Views)

Agree. This information bar is a DISASTER:

 

- Way too big, Takes-up a THIRD of the screen, fonts are too large

- But the font for the current channel/network is too small.

- No logo for current channel. RIDICULOUS! This is an INFORMATION BAR!

- Too slow

- THIS IS AN INFORMATION BAR. NOT A GUIDE. SO PLEASE REMOVE THE SCHEDULED SHOWS.

- THERE IS NO SEPARATION.

- VERY POORLY DESIGNED. WHAT A DISASTER.

 

RG625
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-03-2019

Re: Disable information bar

Message 16 of 19
(740 Views)

Not only is the Channel/network name in a small text size compared to everything else in the Information Bar (WITH NO CHANNEL LOGO), but it DOESN'T EVEN SPELL OUT THE CHANNEL!!!!! It's an abbreviation of the name. Also, it's SO SLOW. Whatever channel you're tuned to is delayed in the Information Bar. TOTALLY CONFUSING AND FRUSTRATING!!!!!! You people REALLY RUINED a decently working function.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Disable information bar

Message 17 of 19
(602 Views)

According to a post in the thread about the IMG changes, there is a release rolling out as we speak. Check Sept 2020 Fios DVR and Guide Update solution post


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Skizzie1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-10-2018

Re: Disable information bar

Message 18 of 19
(577 Views)

The update that they released on Oct 23 doesn’t seem to have fixed much of anything to me, anyone else see changes???

 

Why does it have to be soooo hard to actually find the display settings that need to be fixed?

 

But most importantly...WHEN WILL WE RECEIVE NEW REMOTE CONTROLS THAT ACTUALLY WORK WITH THIS JUNK SYSTEM NOW???

 

RG625...Wow, I couldn’t have said it better myself. You hit the nail on the head on everything. Exactly what I was thinking. Thank you!

 

RG6251
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-12-2020

Re: Disable information bar

Message 19 of 19
(439 Views)

Thanks. Usernames RG625 and RG6251 are both mine. (I changed my email and it made me choose a new username)

 

Anyway, it's really a shame. I have the VMS1100 and changing the Now and Next bar (previously called the Information Bar) to 0 seconds totally disables the bar. But now, there's no way to tell what channel you're on or what show you're watching!!

 

After disabling the Now and Next bar, it does not in ANY WAY, speed the channel switching process. It's still as slow as molasses. You gotta laugh.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title