Disable information bar

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-21-2020

Disable information bar

Message 1 of 18
(1,436 Views)

Hello.  Please advise how to disable the new "information bar" that pops up over half the screen each time we change channels.  It is slow and intrusive.

Also, any tips to speed up the channel guide would be much appreciated.  It is very slow since the recent updates.  I don't understand why it takes so long to change channels now.  Thanks!

17 REPLIES 17
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Disable information bar

Message 2 of 18
(1,395 Views)

@Val1 wrote:

Hello.  Please advise how to disable the new "information bar" that pops up over half the screen each time we change channels.  It is slow and intrusive.

Also, any tips to speed up the channel guide would be much appreciated.  It is very slow since the recent updates.  I don't understand why it takes so long to change channels now.  Thanks!


Try: menu>guide>now and next timeout, change it to 0 or 2 seconds to speed things up. Make sure last viewed guide state is enabled. Menu>Settings>system>television>default information bar should be checked, not information page. Also turn off the Last Watched Rail, then go into menu>settings>notifications>recommendations, promotions, and Guide banner and disable them. That should also speed things up.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-21-2020

Re: Disable information bar

Message 3 of 18
(1,368 Views)

Thanks, turning down the now and next timeout helped a lot!  Unfortunately, the

 

Menu>Settings>system>television>default information bar

 

suggestion doesn't work.  My only options under television are:

Auto Tune to HD Channels

Help

Last Watched Rail.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Disable information bar

Message 4 of 18
(1,364 Views)

@Val1 wrote:

Thanks, turning down the now and next timeout helped a lot!  Unfortunately, the

 

Menu>Settings>system>television>default information bar

 

suggestion doesn't work.  My only options under television are:

Auto Tune to HD Channels

Help

Last Watched Rail.


Are you on Apr 6.9, 0r Apr7.0? The settings for the Info bar are in the same place for either firmware. Are you sure info page isn't selected instead of info bar? Try Menu>settings>notifications>guide banner>disable.

 

Menu should look like this:

Screenshot_2020-09-24 APR 7 0.png

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-21-2020

Re: Disable information bar

Message 5 of 18
(1,336 Views)

Thanks for your continued help.  I am on APR-7.0.  As I wrote, when I follow

 

Menu>Settings>system>television

 

my only next  options are (in order):

Auto Tune to HD Channels

Help

Last Watched Rail

 

I did it again just now to confirm.

 

Following your other instructions (including disabling the guide banner as you indicated) indeed got rid of the information bar pop-up every time I flip channels, but there is still an annoying delay each time the channel changes.  Plus there is no display of the current channel.

 

Despite your generous assistance, there unfortunately seems to be no hope of tweaking the settings to return things to the former speed (which was already plenty slow).

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Disable information bar

Message 6 of 18
(1,314 Views)

@Val1 wrote:

Thanks for your continued help.  I am on APR-7.0.  As I wrote, when I follow

 

Menu>Settings>system>television

 

my only next  options are (in order):

Auto Tune to HD Channels

Help

Last Watched Rail

 

I did it again just now to confirm.

 

Following your other instructions (including disabling the guide banner as you indicated) indeed got rid of the information bar pop-up every time I flip channels, but there is still an annoying delay each time the channel changes.  Plus there is no display of the current channel.

 

Despite your generous assistance, there unfortunately seems to be no hope of tweaking the settings to return things to the former speed (which was already plenty slow).


Unfortunately I guess at this point all people can do is contact Verizon directly and voice their complaints. I'll try to find out where you can do that and be heard, but this is a peer driven forum, so it has limited visibility to Verizon corporate. You could try the Verizon Direct forum on DSLREPORTS.COM,  that is a direct pipeline to support.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-30-2020

Re: Disable information bar

Message 7 of 18
(1,248 Views)

This new information bar is awful.  Way to slow; too much distracting information popping up when you change channels.  Information overload.  Hate it.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-30-2020

How to make TV useable again

Message 8 of 18
(1,286 Views)

The new features make the info button no longer work. The info bar nonsense is there forever.  Is there any way to remove these horrific new “features”???  

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-30-2020

Re: How to make TV useable again

Message 9 of 18
(1,272 Views)

I was told technical support can remove this trash, will call tomorrow

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: How to make TV useable again

Message 10 of 18
(1,227 Views)

@Sephro wrote:

I was told technical support can remove this trash, will call tomorrow


Try settings>notifications>guide banner>disable. Might help a bit. Also try menu>guide>settings>now and next timeout, change it to 2 or 0 seconds to speed things up.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.