Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Double picture when setting up new box

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-29-2011

Double picture when setting up new box

Message 1 of 5
(1,814 Views)

This one has the Verizon's techies scratching their heads. Recently got a new set box. Have non-HD TV but the box is a HD DVR. Matched the cable placement from original box (also an HD DVR for my non-HD TV, which worked fine for years) but now I get two picture areas evenly on the screen with a black bar down the middle vertically. Pictures match and colors also not quite right. Sometimes the picture have a vertical scroll problem, but this correct when you turn off/on.   This is not a picture in picture feature ... this is clearly a error in the signal or cabling. DVD plays a good picture so it is not the TV. Tried reconnecting all ends of every cable. Have allowed set box to reset several times.

 

Any ideas for solutions? If so, please email {edited for privacy}@verizon.net as I do not check this forum often.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Re: Double picture when setting up new box

Message 3 of 5
(1,794 Views)

@DavidMoose wrote:

 Have non-HD TV but the box is a HD DVR. Matched the cable placement from original box (also an HD DVR for my non-HD TV, which worked fine for years) but now I get two picture areas evenly on the screen with a black bar down the middle vertically. Pictures match and colors also not quite right. Any ideas for solutions? If so, please email {edited for privacy}@verizon.net as I do not check this forum often.



It sounds like your STB is putting out a progressive video format or 480p. Your non-HD set is 480i so you'll get two pictures, side by side. Try setting output to 480i or 480 interlace.

 

I have an HD STB and just for kicks tried sending a 480p signal to my non-HD set and got what you described so I'm fairy certain it's the same thing.

 

Hope this helps. Smiley Happy

Drewdove

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Admin Emeritus Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎06-10-2010

Re: Double picture when setting up new box

Message 2 of 5
(1,802 Views)

You can use the Verizon Troubleshooter report and try to fix issues with your FiOS TV, as well as to schedule a repair. You can access the Troubleshooter here:  http://www.verizon.com/repair. You can also find other tools on our Residential Support page that may help you diagnose your issue: http://www22.verizon.com/residentialhelp/.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Re: Double picture when setting up new box

Message 3 of 5
(1,795 Views)

@DavidMoose wrote:

 Have non-HD TV but the box is a HD DVR. Matched the cable placement from original box (also an HD DVR for my non-HD TV, which worked fine for years) but now I get two picture areas evenly on the screen with a black bar down the middle vertically. Pictures match and colors also not quite right. Any ideas for solutions? If so, please email {edited for privacy}@verizon.net as I do not check this forum often.



It sounds like your STB is putting out a progressive video format or 480p. Your non-HD set is 480i so you'll get two pictures, side by side. Try setting output to 480i or 480 interlace.

 

I have an HD STB and just for kicks tried sending a 480p signal to my non-HD set and got what you described so I'm fairy certain it's the same thing.

 

Hope this helps. Smiley Happy

Drewdove

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Re: Double picture when setting up new box

Message 4 of 5
(1,693 Views)

Drew - Great tip!  Solved double-picture from new FiOS box with non-HD Sharp.  Thanks!

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Double picture when setting up new box

Message 5 of 5
(1,664 Views)

@B-in-Bethesda wrote:

Drew - Great tip!  Solved double-picture from new FiOS box with non-HD Sharp.  Thanks!


You might want to mark the thread "solved."

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.