Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Reply
InFoman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-02-2012

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 31 of 40
(7,700 Views)

I found out the hard way that "Just about any eSata Drive will work" is incorrect. Unless you buy one of the WD drives approved by Verizon, be sure it's 24/7 AV rated. The Western Digital drive family for this is: WD AV-GP. DO NOT use a data drive it MUST be an AV dirve. I went with a WD20EURS (2TB)

FRANKIE1967
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-27-2012

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 32 of 40
(7,336 Views)

Can I use my seagate to down load the programs from my dvr

tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 33 of 40
(7,324 Views)

Nope.

 

The way it works is the disk get formatted for exclusive use with that DVR.  It would have to be reformatted to reuse elsewhere including another Verizon DVR.

 

Its encrypts the files so they can be decrypted by the mathced DVR.

 

Once hooked up the external drive is used by the DVR as the preferred place to store recording, only when the disk is nearly full (except for those items that are eligible for undelete) does it go back to storing on the DVR's internal drive.

 

No moving or "archiving" function exists to move recordings around from internal to external drive.

sabasababa
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-27-2012

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 34 of 40
(7,300 Views)

If my FIOS DVR [Motorola QIP 7216] malfunctions and is replaced by Verizon, then will I necessarily lose everything that is on my WD MyBook AV DVR Expander? Can Verizon set up the replacement DVR so that the WD DVR Expander thinks it is the prior one?

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 35 of 40
(7,292 Views)

@sabasababa wrote:

If my FIOS DVR [Motorola QIP 7216] malfunctions and is replaced by Verizon, then will I necessarily lose everything that is on my WD MyBook AV DVR Expander? Can Verizon set up the replacement DVR so that the WD DVR Expander thinks it is the prior one?


Yes and no. Hopefully they will change that in the (not too distant) future.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248

 

SCWoods
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-10-2013

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 36 of 40
(6,298 Views)

I have attached a 3TB (Western Digital WD AV-GP WD30EURS 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb)  drive to my QIP7232-P2,   the system clearly sees the drive as it boots (the activity light flickers) but beyond that it seems to not exist.    I have gone through the 'enable more storage' sequence several times with no change.

   eSATA Storage Devices states that there are no limits to the storage allowed although it does have a warning that they may be compatibility issues.   I would thing that compatibility issues would not preclude the system from using the drive,    if you're going to insist on certain exact drive types you should say so, not mumble about compatibility.

armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 37 of 40
(6,286 Views)

@SCWoods wrote:

I have attached a 3TB (Western Digital WD AV-GP WD30EURS 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb)  drive to my QIP7232-P2 ... it seems to not exist ...    eSATA Storage Devices ... does have a warning that they may be compatibility issues.   I would thing that compatibility issues would not preclude the system from using the drive ...


 

Not sure why one would draw such a conclusion.  If I am told two devices may not be compatible, I understand that to mean they may not work together.  See for example:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&ved=0CDgQFjAB&url=http%...
 
SCWoods
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-10-2013

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 38 of 40
(6,270 Views)

Compatabiliry usually mean they don't interoperate well, not that the sustem doesn't see them.   This drive is of the Falily that they want (designed for 24/7 operation and for data streaming.    At the very least the server should goivr some indication tat it's seen the drive.   Inany case I'll be calling FIOS in the morning to start chasing down the try this try that try the other trail.

   I did notice that the isntructions as given on the web do not match the behaivior of the device in detail or in general.

saleswords
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-30-2013

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive

Message 39 of 40
(5,982 Views)

Our DVR began to flake out, and a Verizon rep sent a new one after telling me that all we'd have to do with the WD DVR expander is to plug it in. Of course, I was later informed that that was not true: the new box will reformat the external drive, and we will lose all of our stored programming. THIS STINKS.

 

I know there are copyright issues, but what it really boils down to is that no one cares enough to fix the problem.  Hollywood will not collapse if Verizon's technology is changed to allow ONE replacement DVR to be compatible with the hard drive that was tied to the replaced DVR.

 

Is there ANY way to move this programming to some other medium (e.g., DVD) or view it elsewhere (e.g., my computer)?

 

(I'm going to hold onto the old DVR for a few weeks to try to move the stored programs, but the machine is very flakey and there's a lot to move.)

 

I'm wiling to buy other equipment if needed.

 

Thanks.

armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: FIOS DVR External Hard Drive - "How To" References

Message 40 of 40
(5,972 Views)

@saleswords wrote:

Our DVR began to flake out ... [and] ... the new box will reformat the external drive, and we will lose all of our stored programming ... Is there ANY way to move this programming to some other medium (e.g., DVD) or view it elsewhere ...

(I'm going to hold onto the old DVR for a few weeks to try to move the stored programs... wiling to buy other equipment if needed ...

 


The fact that changing the parent DVR results in the loss of all content on the external drive is well documented (see below).  I cannot suggest why you received specific information to the contrary.  However all is not "lost" even though the solution is tedious and time consuming.

 

I am attaching several links that provide details.  Note that this is only a brief sampling of the information available on the forums on this particular subject.

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Transfer-recordings-from-regular-Samsung-...

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Here-s-how-to-record-from-Verizon-DVR-to-...

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Is-there-a-problem-to-my-external-HD-if-I...

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Transfer-internal-DVR-to-external-hard-dr...

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Deleting-shows-from-external-dvr-does-not...

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Transferring-DVR-recordings/m-p/528611#M4...

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Replacement-DVR-and-external-hard-drive/m...

 

Finally here is a link that details equipment and related details on how I copy content from the DVR.  Please advise if more information is required.

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Home-Networking/Cmon-Show-Us-Your-Network/m-p/481733#M765

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title