Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

FIOS HD channels apear to be Grainy

Reply
Purr24
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-05-2009

FIOS HD channels apear to be Grainy

Message 1 of 6
(6,459 Views)

I realy like the Fios but my HD Channels apear to be a little grainy? Comcast HD had a better picture much clearer! is there anything I can do to fix this problem? I have the FIOS HD DVR Receiver hooked up to my 46" Sony Bravia 120hz  LCD TV

5 REPLIES 5
dennybuck
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Re: FIOS HD channels apear to be Grainy

Message 2 of 6
(6,393 Views)

Basics you might have covered: What output are you using? HDMI is best, do you subscribe to the HD package? Are you tuned to the correct channel for HD. TBS HD=552 TBS SD=52

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: FIOS HD channels apear to be Grainy

Message 3 of 6
(6,391 Views)

@Purr24 wrote:

I realy like the Fios but my HD Channels apear to be a little grainy? Comcast HD had a better picture much clearer! is there anything I can do to fix this problem? I have the FIOS HD DVR Receiver hooked up to my 46" Sony Bravia 120hz  LCD TV


 

My FiOS HD channels are all crystal clear.  You might check the picture settings on your Sony to ensure that the sharpness setting isn't too high.  This would introduce false noise into the picture, giving it s grainy appearance.

philhu
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: FIOS HD channels apear to be Grainy

Message 4 of 6
(6,319 Views)

Well, it might sound counter-intuitive, but I think the signal picture is BETTER on fios.

 

On Comcast, they drop the bandwidth, which softens the picture, so it looks better because an uncompressed picture, like on Fios,  will show the original artifacts in the broadcast signal.

 

I've had the opportunity to have comcast and fios side by side for a week, and Comcast def looks cleaner.  Get close to the sets, you see Comcast is very soft and Fios is sharp, complete with all interference broadcast, slight vairiations on a per pixel basis, etc.

 

My set has a setting for natural  (Samsung 43").  In Natural, it softens the pic a bit, and it looks alot cleaner.  Note I don't say better, but cleaner.

 

Standing 7 feet back, the sharper pic looks alot clearer, since the artifacts in the orig image are far away, and not perceivable at 7ft

 

My $0.02

 

Purr24
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-05-2009

Re: FIOS HD channels apear to be Grainy

Message 5 of 6
(6,300 Views)

I am hooked up with HMDI cable and I did change my TV picture settings from Vivid to Standard I did notice a difference when I backed up away from the screen! Just a little better though!

KenAF
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: FIOS HD channels apear to be Grainy

Message 6 of 6
(6,294 Views)

 


@Purr24 wrote:

I am hooked up with HMDI cable and I did change my TV picture settings from Vivid to Standard I did notice a difference when I backed up away from the screen! Just a little better though!


 

What is the model of your Sony Bravia?

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.