Fios One Mini Wi-Fi Connections (Solutions, Read This Fios Technicians)
MiniWizard
Enthusiast - Level 1

Read This Post Carefully!

I spent over a week trying to connect my Fios One Mini to my Fios Quantum Gateway (G1100).  During this time I spoke to 3 different senior technicians on the phone, 2 technicians through the chat, and a physical visit from a Fios technician.  None knew what the cause of my issue was.  Fortunately, I am a savvy IT technician and did not accept any of the responses.

Short Answer:

You must be broadcasting your 5Ghz network on a Fios Quantum Gateway router for the Fios One Mini to connect using the Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) feature.

Typical Responses from the Technicians:

• Your gateway is too far away, when it was only 18 ft from the second story to the first by line of site through a 3/4" plywood subfloor with linoleum and 1/2" sheetrock.
  • You need to put in a wireless network extender at $119 near the TV.
  • Your Fios One main box must be within 5Ghz range and must be too far away (Completely wrong information because the Mini communiciates via the Wi-Fi to the Gateway which routes to the Main over the coax [MoCA] connection).
  • The Mini setup is all automatic, you should not have to do anything.  I am doubting this.  The Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) button must be pressed to open the special "Any" SSID so that a device can connect.
  • Performance over the coax is always better.  Under my configuration, I cannot see any difference in performance.

My Configuration:

• Large 2 story brick exterior home with about 2200 sq.ft. per floor.  Main house about 62' x 34' on each floor.  9ft ceilings on the first floor.
  • Fios Quantum Gateway on second floor approximately 15' x 10' from one of the corners of the main home.
  • Fios One Main box MoCA (coax RG6 quad shield connected) about 30' from the Fios Quantum Gateway.