×

Switch Account

FIOS TV is giving off a loud beep between programs and commericals

FIOS TV is giving off a loud beep between programs and commericals

Reply
Copper Contributor Skipperl
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
Message 11 of 60
(13,259 Views)
OK, I'll add my problem too.  I get the same problem hooked up to my Sony surround sound system via hdmi and optical connections.  I have called tech support and they seem to know of this problem although they do not have a solution yet.  I get the loud beeping noise intermittently when the channels go to commercial or whatever as well.  I have noticed that it may have something to do with the audio changing audio formats, IE. stereo, back to 5.1 and back.  At least when I hear the beeping noise, I can see the front panel of my system changing audio formats.  My system auto adjusts for the audio and video it detects, as I assume so does all of yours.  I have changed cables for the heck of it and will try to lock in  5.1 if I can figure out how or if its possible on my system.  I do not believe this is a problem going directly to the TV.  There is a menu selection in the HD stb to change the audio output to surround, stereo and mono.  I am not sure if changing that would stop the beep but it would eliminate the surround sound system, dvr and TV if changing the box to stereo stops the noise.  Just a thought.
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
Message 12 of 60
(13,243 Views)

I have my MR HD DVR hooked up with Composite Cables to my TV and an Optical Toslink to my Receiver and have not noticed any louds beeps or oter sounds while watching TV.

 

Could it be something with the HDMI Interface on the FIOS HD Boxes ?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Copper Contributor Skipperl
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
Message 13 of 60
(13,235 Views)
Well, in my case, I have hdmi and opticalThe video running through the hdmi is fine and this problem just came up within the last couple weeksSo I'm thinking the HDMI is OK.
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 14 of 60
(13,223 Views)

@Skipperl wrote:
  ... There is a menu selection in the HD stb to change the audio output to surround, stereo and mono.  I am not sure if changing that would stop the beep but it would eliminate the surround sound system, dvr and TV if changing the box to stereo stops the noise.  Just a thought.

FWIW - I believe (not positive) that those settings only affect the analog outputs (red and white RCA jacks).  The coice of "surround" engages an internal surround simulator only.

Message Edited by Keyboards on 06-15-2009 10:47 AM
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor Skipperl
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
Message 15 of 60
(13,190 Views)
I went and got a replacement for my STB 6200 and received a STB 7100.   So far the problem has decreased substantially.  I have heard only two beeps all day, which is so much better than before.  I also changed the way my surround sound system handles 2channels.  Instead of full auto, I selected Dolby pro logic II decoding for two channel operation.  I believe that the beeps comes from a change from 5.1 to 2 channel when low end commercials or programs are shown.  I have no other issues with my set up.  I would recommend the new box, it seems like it has improved operation.  Good luck all.
Contributor stembers
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-21-2009
Message 16 of 60
(13,086 Views)

Ok so what is the official fix?  I've checked several websites across the internet -- there doesn't seems to be an official fix as someone else claimed a new box didn't fix their problem....why doesn't a Verizon technical rep that is moderating these boards please respond?  My wife wants to cancel our service - it is THAT bad (ESPN is the worst).

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2,740
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
Message 17 of 60
(13,088 Views)

I apologize, but unfortunately we cannot answer that question. A forum moderator’s job is to maintain the forum itself, so we are typically unable to access accounts or provide support information on an individual basis.  This is a user helping other user forum.  While there are some Verizon employees that occasionally post on the boards, this particular issue may not be in their realm of expertise.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer that solved your issue as the accepted solution.

Contributor stembers
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-21-2009
Message 18 of 60
(13,064 Views)

I understand the purpose of a user forum -- and where issues are "customer specific" and the customer has the ability to control or influence, or is looking for specific advice / opinions about a specific service or offering from other users, your response makes sense.

 

However when a technical malfunction is raised in a user forum about an underlying product or service, that is all-together another issue.  I'd suggest it's more common in this instance for the product or service provider to comment / add clarity / show the issue is being worked, etc. - as the fix and recommendation is solely the responsiblity of the product or service provider.  (e.g. there is no "customer choice" for fellow users to influence -- this is a technical glitch with FiOS -- and customers experiencing this should have the issue resolved the same way)

 

 

Contributor twisterdavemd
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-23-2009
Message 19 of 60
(12,725 Views)
I have a older Motorola QIP6416 connected to a Sony STR-DG510 via HDMI.   I've found the the problem occurs with locally produced commercials, with lesser audio quality, returning to a program with full 5.1 audio.
Contributor stembers
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-21-2009
Message 20 of 60
(12,685 Views)
I have the same older Moto STB, connected to an older Sony combo DVD / receiver with HDMI...are you going to get a new(er) STB from VZ?  I haven't had time to fix this yet - clearly VZ isn't going to proactively do anything. 
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.