Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-06-2017

FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 1 of 8
(1,571 Views)

In the 10-years I've had this service, Verizon FIOS has always replaced defective or dead remotes for us at no charge. I always thought this was a resonable response to a piece of equipment that has a reliable failure rate of somewhere between 6-months and a year. (...raise your hand if your remotes just stop working without misuse)

 

So I make my yearly call today to replace 2-remotes, one dead, one on its way out, and to my surprise, they want to charge me $15 for each remote??? are you kidding??? I already pay more than $200 for a service that, despite repeated attempts on my part, can't seem to get me under that price point even after I've suggested getting rid of dozens of channels, including premium that we don't watch.

 

BTW...I would gladly pay for the remote if the **bleep** thing wasn't so F%#@*%# cheap!!

 

I'm preparing to switch to a better,  less expesive option (Layer3,  Hulu streaming with stand alone HBO, Showtime, etc)

 

Dont' put up with this...do the same if you agree. 

 

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,919
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 2 of 8
(1,526 Views)

Problem is that too many people were abusing the free replacements.

Allyou have to do is look on eBay for the number of FIOS remotes for sale.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-08-2017

Re: FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 3 of 8
(1,504 Views)

Not to mention that the remotes are Flinstone vintage. How about updating to 2017?

Voice Activation? Better UI? Horrible remotes regardless and I agree terrible quality. Unfortunately, your other choice is Comcast. I have always felt Verizon lesser of 2 evils.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎10-26-2011

Re: FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 4 of 8
(1,492 Views)

As said people were abusing the free remotes and turning around and selling them. I dont blame them.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 5 of 8
(1,459 Views)

@vpocino wrote:

Not to mention that the remotes are Flinstone vintage. How about updating to 2017?

Voice Activation? Better UI? Horrible remotes regardless and I agree terrible quality. Unfortunately, your other choice is Comcast. I have always felt Verizon lesser of 2 evils.


Note the IP based system they were testing has voice activation.

 

On the current model remotes,   Now is well in the past.  They decide to charge quite some time ago.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2018

Re: FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 6 of 8
(1,017 Views)

If people abused the policy then Verizon should implement controls such as permitting 1 or 2 remotes annually depending on how many set top boxes you rent.  I'm sick of paying $15 fro a remote that lasts a year tops.  As the first commenter said, I'd happily pay the $15 if the remote lasted much longer.  I never had this problem with remotes when I had Dish or DirectTV.  Frankly, I'm sick of Verizon Fios anyway.  There is always a lag, and channels and the internet go out too often.  I've had to have the set top box replaced 3 times!!!  It is unacceptable to charge for the remotes.  

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,919
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 7 of 8
(1,004 Views)

I have several remotes that have easily lasted 2-3 years already (if not longer).

Is it one particular key that quits functioning?

You can buy plenty of them online (check ebay).
There are hundreds.

BW, they did implement a one remote per box per year before stopping free altogether. All about business. Don't know if any of the other providers give free replacements (assuming you are not paying a monthly fee for it)


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,167
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: FIOS now charging for remotes?...I'm done!!!

Message 8 of 8
(983 Views)

Where I am you can walk into Time Warner’s/Spectrum offices and they hand them out for free at the door. My mother in law goes through loads of them. Her dogs chew them, or they play with them etc. 

 

there are third party remotes which if paired correctly with the original remotes code should work.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.