×

Switch Account

Family Guy 1-5-14 Recording of this content is prohibited by the content provider

Family Guy 1-5-14 Recording of this content is prohibited by the content provider

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor coorz
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-07-2014

I have a Media Center PC with a cable card tuner attached.  This past sunday's family guy on Fox I got "Recording of this content is prohibited by the content provider" error.  I've never had a problem recording Family Guy until now and I have other shows on Fox and other networks that have recorded fine.  Did something change with Fox and Family Guy?

5 REPLIES 5
Contributor quintonl
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-09-2014

Coorz,

 

I'm seeing this with Family Guy and a handful of other shows including the new Parks and Rec and Psych.  Several shows on Fox, as well. 

 

Windows Media Center is the only product that honors the "Do Not Record" flag.  People using TIVO or the native DVR will never see this problem.  However, it is Verizon setting this flag - not the actual network.  

 

Things like this make we want to "cut the cord" with cable.  When people like us can "find" and download these shows easier than we can legally record them... what are we supposed to do?  Seriously, several court rulings have said the Do Not Copy flag aren't legal - I guess they were local rulings...

 

What to do?  Well, calling Verizon is useless.  You'll never get to a rep who knows what the hell this is. 

Contributor mb27
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2014

I thought I'd chime in to say I've been having this issue as well. It's really **bleep** me off. A lot of my recordings are halted half way though, while many others just won't even begin recording. 

 

Is Verizon trying to drive me back to Comcast??? This is absurd. 

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
I thought I'd chime in to say I've been having this issue as well. It's really **bleep** me off. A lot of my recordings are halted half way though, while many others just won't even begin recording.
 

Is Verizon trying to drive me back to Comcast??? This is absurd.

 

 

 

Yeah, except it's not a Verizon-specific issue.  Nice try though.

Contributor mb27
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2014

@JiveTurkey wrote:
I thought I'd chime in to say I've been having this issue as well. It's really **bleep** me off. A lot of my recordings are halted half way though, while many others just won't even begin recording.
 

Is Verizon trying to drive me back to Comcast??? This is absurd.

 

 

 

Yeah, except it's not a Verizon-specific issue.  Nice try though.


Wow thanks for the extremely helpful comment; you must work for Verizon tech support. 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

No he doesn't.  But Comcast is suppose to, or already has, turn on the flag.  Its a change from the content provider not Verizon.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.