Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-21-2019

Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 1 of 44
(2,765 Views)

Before the recent software update, I was able to fast forward or reverse by "chapter" in any program on the DVR.  This was accessed by pressing the up arrow button in the circular set of buttons on the remote. An array of 5 or 10 minute segments would appear at the top of the screen, depending on how long the entire show was, and you could then right or left arrow to skip rapidly forward or back in 5 or 10 minute increments.  Since the update, I can no longer find this function.  Is it still available or is it gone forever?

43 REPLIES 43
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,906
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 2 of 44
(2,651 Views)

Which model STB do you have?

Have you checked to see if chaptering was inadvertently disabled in the latest release?

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-05-2020

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 3 of 44
(2,642 Views)

STB is IPC1100 DVR. I have yet to find anywhere in the setting to enable/disable chaptering. Help mentions it, but I can't find it in any setting.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2020

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 4 of 44
(2,462 Views)

I have this same problem. 

Before the most recent update pushed by Fios, the DVR would allow me to skip ahead by chapters.  That feature is now gone and there is no setting to bring it back. 

This is absurd. They added a nicer font. So what? I want the thing to work. I don't care about how pretty the UI looks. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 5 of 44
(2,400 Views)

I Messaged FIOS, no reply as yet. Regular chat knew nothing. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,053
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 6 of 44
(2,382 Views)

@PLynn26 wrote:

I Messaged FIOS, no reply as yet. Regular chat knew nothing. 


In APR 7.0 chaptering is in Menu>settings>DVR>program chaptering.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-05-2020

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 7 of 44
(2,342 Views)

Nope.
My "System Information" shows: "Release: APR-7.0"
Mine doesn't have "Menu>settings>DVR>program chaptering"
Mine has "Menu>Settings>System>DVR>"
but then only choices are:
Skip, Replay, Default Series Options, Help
I can provide photos of screens if desired.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-24-2020

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 8 of 44
(2,326 Views)

I'm having the same problem too. It was working fine before the software update.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,053
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 9 of 44
(2,316 Views)

@A_A wrote:

Nope.
My "System Information" shows: "Release: APR-7.0"
Mine doesn't have "Menu>settings>DVR>program chaptering"
Mine has "Menu>Settings>System>DVR>"
but then only choices are:
Skip, Replay, Default Series Options, Help
I can provide photos of screens if desired.


That's strange, APR 7.0 should look like this:

 

ScreenHunter 15.jpg

 

That's what it SHOULD look like. I have no idea why yours is different, but that's where the option is supposed to be. That option wasn't supposed to change from APR 6.9 to APR 7.0.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2020

Re: Fast Forward by "Chapter" in DVR

Message 10 of 44
(2,274 Views)

I am very upset the Program Chaptering feature for recorded DVR programs seems to no longer be available.  The "upgrade" to the channel selections happened for me overnight (9-18-20) and this feature no longer appears when i press the Down arrow on my remote.  It's not found under any of the menu settings, either.

 

This is a very bothersome change...more like a DOWNGRADE, imo.  If I've recorded a 3 hour sporting event and i just want to watch the final ten minutes or so, then I'm supposed to FF all the way through two hours and 50 minutes??!!!

 

FIX THIS, FIOS!!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.